North Yarmouth Academy Panthers Winter Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

2012-13 Winter Male Athlete of the Year:

T.J. DAIGLER, Senior—Hockey


· Athletic Council winner

· Team captain

· Leading scorer

Daigler was an integral member of a young squad which consistently improved against difficult opposition.

Daigler lives in Gorham and has played hockey since a young age. He came to NYA as a freshman and played hockey for four years, while also playing attack on a boys’ lacrosse team which has competed in the state final two years running.

This winter, the Panthers won just five of 25 games, but gradually got better against top prep programs from across New England. Daigler, a forward, who was an assistant captain as a junior and a full captain as a senior, had 10 goals and 10 assists (highlighted by a hat trick in a win over Worcester Academy) and was also a force on the defensive end of the ice.

NYA showed great improvement from the start of the season to the finish, something which Daigler deserves a great deal of credit for making happen.

“It was tough with a young team, but we overcame,” said Daigler. “It was a lot of hard work and dedication.”

Daigler capped his season by taking part in the annual Boston Bruins Alumni vs. Portland Area All-Stars hockey game for the Portland Firefighters.

Daigler, who also plays in the New England Fall Prep League and receives individual instruction from Adam Nicholas, hopes to graduate with a lacrosse championship before he plans to spend a PG year at either Deerfield or Westminster. He hopes to parlay that year into an opportunity to play hockey in college.

After an admirable senior season, it’s safe to say we haven’t heard the last of T.J. Daigler, who left his imprint this winter on a storied program.

Coach Eric Graham’s comment: “T.J. was the heart and soul of our team this year. He was a leader on both offense and defense. He took the captain’s role with great responsibility. His biggest impact was leading a young team.”

2011-12 winner: Asad Dahia (Basketball)

2010-11 winner: Ian Moore (Skiing)

2009-10 winner: Henry Sterling (Indoor track)

2008-09 winner: Henry Sterling (Indoor track)

2007-08 winner: Ian Nichols (Swimming)

2006-07 winner: Chris Engel (Swimming)

2005-06 winner: Rob Carpenter (Indoor track)

2004-05 winner: Tim DeLuca (Basketball)

2003-04 winner: Dan Bartlett (Hockey)

2002-03 winner: Steve Lawrence (Hockey)

2001-02 winner: Matt Smith (Hockey)

2012-13 Winter Female Athlete of the Year:

SONIA LIN, Freshman—Swimming


· All-Conference, second team, 100 breaststroke

· All-Conference, second team, 200 medley relay

· All-Conference, second team, 200 free relay

· All-Conference, third team, 200 IM

· Team MVP

Lin certainly debuted with a flourish, not only winning a state title as a freshman, but setting a new state record in the process, hinting at even more excellence to come.

Lin, a Topsham resident, started swimming at a young age, honed her skills with the Long Reach Swim Club in Bath and came to NYA, which doesn’t have an official team, and trained with powerhouse Greely.

Lin emerged as a top swimmer in four different events, the 50 freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke and individual medley, setting school records in each as the season progressed.

She was superb when the meets mattered most, placing third in the backstroke and fourth in the 100 butterfly at Southwesterns, then setting a new state record by winning the breaststroke in 1 minute, 6.73 seconds. She was also runner-up to Greely standout Sarah Easterling in the IM.

“I’m very competitive and passionate,” said Lin.” I just love to swim. I thought I could win at states.”

Lin, who took part in Nationals in North Carolina following the season, also plays the French horn and piano, plans to run track this spring and play soccer next fall. She hopes to keep winning titles and breaking records and will no longer sneak up on the opposition.

While NYA has a small presence in the pool, Lin is a great ambassador. She had a freshman season that set the bar high. It will be fun to see just how much better she becomes. The sky is seemingly the limit.

Greely coach Rob Hale’s comment: “While Sonia swam for NYA, she contributed immensely to our program. She brought a tremendous work ethic to every practice and a competitiveness to every meet. She didn’t shy away from a challenge. No opponent was too intimidating, no meet was too big. Sonia always rose to the occasion. I loved coaching her. She is good athlete and a wonderful kid.”

2011-12 winner: Morgan Scully (Basketball)

2010-11 winner: Blair Haggett (Basketball)

2009-10 winner: Emily McKinnon (Swimming)

2008-09 winner: Courtney Dumont (Hockey)

2007-08 winner: Courtney Dumont (Hockey)

2006-07 winner: Ingrid Knowles (Nordic skiing)

2005-06 winner: Ingrid Knowles (Nordic skiing)

2004-05 winner: Kathryn Engel (Swimming)

2003-04 winner: Teddy Fortin (Hockey)

2002-03 winner: Bobbi Dennison (Basketball)

2001-02 winner: Ashley Spicer (Basketball)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.