North Yarmouth Academy Panthers Spring Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0


THOMAS PITTS, Junior—Lacrosse

  • WMC all-star, second team

  • Underclass All-Star

  • Captain

Pitts was a key player all over the field and an invaluable leader for a Panthers squad which got to the playoffs this spring.

Pitts was also selected NYA’s Fall Male Athlete of the Year for his soccer excellence.

Pitts started playing lacrosse at the age of 10 and has made his mark in soccer, hockey and lacrosse in high school.

This spring, Pitts didn’t have overwhelming stats, but much of what he brought to his team wasn’t quantifiable.

Pitts scored four goals, two of which came in a season-opening loss to Greely, and added eight assists. 

He also was a force on ground balls and made life miserable for opposing ball-handlers.

“Thomas is an incredible team-first player who would have played any position, including goalie, if I’d asked him to,” said Panthers coach Peter Gerrity. “Without him, we would have had a drastically different season.” 

Pitts helped NYA reach the playoffs and was named to the WMC second-team and took part in the Underclass All-Star Game. Pitts has used up his high school eligibility, but hopes to play lacrosse at the next level.

Thomas Pitts, North Yarmouth Academy’s Spring Male Athlete of the Year, made his coaches proud and his teammates better. He won’t soon be forgotten for his contributions to the program.

Coach Peter Gerrity’s comment: “Thomas understood our defense inside and out and helped our younger players who needed to learn quickly. He also was a threat in transition whenever he picked up the ball. He has a unique style of play that makes him stand out. He’s not afraid to push the ball out of a pile and play soccer with it for 10 yards if that’s what it takes to get possession. He’s one of the hardest working athletes I’ve been around. He’s not capable of playing at less than 100 percent effort until he completely runs out of gas. His work ethic rubbed off on our other players and helped us play our best. He was the heart of our team.” 

Previous winners:

2015 D.J. Nicholas (lacrosse)

2014 Bryce Tetrault (tennis)

2013 Jacob Scammon (lacrosse)

2012 Jake Burns (track)

2011 Ryan Salerno (baseball)

2010 Henry Sterling (track)

2009 Sam Fear (track)

2008 Henry Gleason (lacrosse)

2007 Than Wellin (lacrosse)

2006 Michael Moody (track)

2005 Peter Gerrity (lacrosse)

2004 Brian Chin (track)

2003 Matt Curran (baseball)

2002 Matt Fortin (track)


LENA RICH, Senior—Tennis

  • WMC all-star, singles first team

  • Captain

Rich capped her triumphant career by again proving to be one of the top players in the state, while also taking on the role of team leader.

Rich started playing tennis at the age of five and it quickly became her top sport.

“I’m drawn to individual sports because you’re in control of everything and it’s up to you,” Rich said. “I love tennis. It’s a great outlet.”

Rich, an Edgecomb resident, played first singles all four years of high school and played a key role as NYA won the Class C state title her junior season.

This spring, Rich again went toe-to-toe with some of the state’s best players, won eight of 12 matches, and helped the Panthers get back to the playoffs (they lost to eventual champion St. Dom’s in the semifinals).

Rich also made it to the quarterfinals of the state singles tournament for the third year in a row.

Rich went 66-18 in her high school career and was named to the all-conference team for the fourth year in a row.

Rich, who also competed in crew with Yarmouth’s team, skis and swims recreationally and took part in NYA’s studio, bluegrass and jazz bands. She plans to attend and play tennis at Oberlin College, a Division III program in Oberlin, Ohio.

She’ll be difficult to replace. Lena Rich, North Yarmouth Academy’s Spring Female Athlete of the Year, stood tall for four years and from day one, played like a champion.

Coach Lorena Coffin’s comment: “Lena’s work ethic, focus, powerful style of play and desire to compete have contributed to her success and has inspired her teammates to compete at their highest level as well. While she’s been a dedicated tennis player and leader by example since freshman year, she took on an even greater leadership role this year and was particularly nurturing and encouraging. That, to me, showed her growth not only as a tennis player, but as a mature individual ready to take her academics and tennis to the next level at Oberlin College.”

Previous winners:

2015 Muriel Adams (track)

2014 Olivia Madore (lacrosse)

2013 Muriel Adams (track)

2012 Sarah Jordan (tennis)

2011 Katie Cawley (lacrosse)

2010 Courtney Dumont (lacrosse)

2009 Thu-Trang Ho (tennis)

2008 Kayte Demont (track)

2007 Erin Lachance (lacrosse)

2006 Meghan Meintel (lacrosse)

2005 Molly Moss (lacrosse)

2004: Kristen Lothes (tennis)

2003 Jenny Kendall (tennis)

2002 Emma Harper (track)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements





Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.