North School Notebook

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Falmouth debate team wins championship and honors

The Falmouth High School Speech and Debate Team captured its third straight state title at the Maine Forensic League/Maine Principals’ Association tournament at Brunswick High School on Jan. 26. The tournament was the culmination of the regular season for high school debaters. 

The team also won the sportsmanship award and 14 team members  received individual awards in the tournament. 

For Lincoln-Douglas awards:

Emma Sapat – second place varsity, Sam Larson – first place jv, Halsey Payne – second place novice, Molly Bennett – fifth place novice and Paul Vella – honorable mention novice Lincoln Douglas

For Public Forum awards:

Serene Singh and Nate Wolf – second place varsity

Logan Herodes and Emily Connolly – fourth place varsity

Keenan Kent and Alec Robinson – fourth place novice

Desmond Molloy won a first place Senate award, Sam Reed won a fifth place House award and Seoyeon Kim was awarded an honorable mention as a Poetry novice.

Local students receive advanced placement scholarship

Falmouth High School senior Shreyas Joshi and Yarmouth High School senior Amy Wasielewski have received the 2012-2013 Siemens Award for Advanced Placement. The awards, which include $2,000 scholarships, is given to top students in math and science advanced placement courses in all 50 states. The Siemens Foundation provides more than $7 million annually in support of educational initiatives in the areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, in the United States.