North area all-stars in abundance

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Falmouth, Freeport, Greely, North Yarmouth Academy and Yarmouth all enjoyed memorable moments during the fall sports season. Each school also had their share of standouts named to all-star teams. Here’s a look at who was honored in football, soccer, field hockey, cross country, golf and volleyball:


On the heels of Yarmouth’s stirring run to the Western C Final, it’s no surprise that the Clippers (along with Falmouth, Freeport and Greely) had players named to the Campbell Conference all-star team.

In Class C, Yarmouth’s senior defensive lineman Spencer Dorsett, senior quarterback Eric Estabrook, junior offensive lineman Nick Proscia and senior defensive back Brodie Woodson all made the team. Freeport senior running back Miguel Beckles was also selected.

In Class B, Falmouth junior Caleb Bowden and senior lineman Josiah Fiegelson and Greely junior linebacker Jon Higgins were honored.

Boys’ soccer

Forecaster Country grows superb soccer players like wildfire and 2009 was no different. The Western Maine Conference’s Class A and B boys’ first team featured 11 players, nine who came from our towns.

Falmouth seniors Alec Dunn, Gabe Hoffman-Johnson and Kyle Lucas, Greely seniors Nat LeBlanc and Teddy Russell and Yarmouth seniors Eb Fazeli, Travis Merrill and A.J. Oliver (goalkeeper) and junior Luke Pierce were the selections.

On the second team, Falmouth juniors Michael Bloom and Sam White, Freeport junior Ryan Farley, Greely seniors Luke Booth and Matti Ingraham and junior Jonathan Coyne and Yarmouth senior Colby Shields were honored.

In Class C, NYA senior Henry Sterling and juniors Matt Michaud and Ryan Rousseau made the first team.

All-Academic team selections included Ford Bohrman, Michael Gardner, Kellen MacDonald and Bruce Tuttle, Freeport’s Jairet Harrison and Eric Wold, Greely’s Maxwell Freeman, Richard Hawkes and William Lones, NYA’s Samuel Hutchinson, Samuel Nye, Sterling and William Strabley and Yarmouth’s Connor Costello, Brady Jacques, Michael Johnson, Dan Kameisha, Ryan Melvin, Merrill and Matt Waldroup.

Several players made the all-regional team as well. In Western A, Greely’s Booth and Russell were honored. In Western B, Falmouth’s Bloom, Dunn, Hoffman-Johnson, Lucas and White and Yarmouth’s Fazeli, Merrill, Pierce and Shields were chosen. NYA’s Sterling made the Western C team.

Dunn and Lucas both scored in the West’s 5-4 win over the East in the Maine Soccer Coaches Senior Bowl. Fazeli had three assists. Russell and Hoffman-Johnson each added one.

Girls’ soccer

The girls’ story was just as successful.

The WMC A/B first team included Falmouth seniors Nancy Cooper, Corey Morganstern and Adrienne Sanford, Freeport junior Allyson Fuehrer, Greely seniors Taylor Hicks, Jamie Moody, Becca Otley and Jessie Reade and Yarmouth senior Lizzie Fischman and juniors Becca Bell and Natalie Salmon.

The Class C first team featured NYA seniors Courtney Dumont and Emily Mitchell and juniors Lauren Nawfel and Lilly Wellenbach.

The WMC All-Academic team included Falmouth’s Maria Darrow, Sarah Girouard, Jessica Hoch, Annalise Keeler, Kathleen McCarthy, Morganstern, Sanford and Katie Vogt, NYA’s Katie Lentine and Mitchell and Yarmouth’s Annie Clabby, Molly Curry, Fischman and Heather Sisk.

Greely’s Moody, Otley and Reade were named to the Western A regional all-star team. Falmouth’s Morganstern and Sanford, along with Yarmouth’s Bell, Fischman and Devin Simsarian made the Western B squad. NYA’s Dumont and Wellenbach were named to the Western C team.

Fischman had a goal in the West’s 6-2 Senior Bowl victory.

Field hockey

NYA’s field hockey team made it back to the Class C state final, but fell short this year. Regardless, the Panthers certainly got the attention of other coaches in the WMC as five players made the all-star team.

Kylie Dalbec, Lianna Hachborn and Frances Leslie were named to the District 2 first team, along with Freeport’s standout senior goalie Hannah Schuchert. Jamie Rogers and Ashley Salerno made the second team, along with Freeport’s Hannah Goodenow and Mia Taggart.

Hachborn was also chosen the Class C Player of the Year.

In District 1, Falmouth’s Nicole Foley and Emma Sipperly, Greely’s Sarah Robinson and Yarmouth’s Samantha Hall were named to the first team. Falmouth’s Amber Aaskov, Jacki Aaskov and Greely’s Kate Storey were second team selections.

Falmouth’s Foley, Freeport’s Schuchert and NYA’s Hachborn were also named to the all-state team.

Cross country

On the trails, the WMC boys’ first team included Falmouth’s Tim Follo, Freeport’s Griffin Day and Henry Loughlin and Class B state champion Greely’s Sam Johnston, Mark McCauley and Logan Price.

Falmouth’s Thomas Edmonds, Eric Hemphill and John Lake and Greely’s Sam Humphries and Connor Regan qualified for the second team.

Falmouth’s Eric D’Agostino, Tyler Evers, Ryan Gao, William Hayes, Hemphill, Michael Serunian, Benjamin Snowdown, Charlie Swerdlow and Bernard Weigel, Greely’s Andrew Hunter and Pirce, NYA’s Ethan Allred and Philip Champoux and Yarmouth’s Jackson Lee, Sam Woodbury, Cam Woodworth and Tim Wright all qualified as Senior Scholar Athletes.

On the girls’ side, Greely’s Melissa Jacques made the WMC first team. Falmouth’s Erin Morris and Maggie Parrish and Freeport’s Kiera Berkemeyer and Lindsey Merrill were second teamers.

Falmouth’s Grace Baker, Caroline Clement, Francesca D’Alfonso and Morris, Freeport’s Berkemeyer, Greely’s Marissa Goding, Addie Halligan and Emily Norton, NYA’s Devon Gamble, Hilary Gibson, Rebecca McKelvey and Maeve Stier and Yarmouth’s Ellie Hurd all qualified as Senior Scholar Athletes.


It was a great season for golfers of both genders.

Greely’s Laura Grant won the girls’ individual state title and was one of eight local players on the girls’ all-star team. Grant was joined by teammates Kerri Grant, Edith Aromando, Emma Seymour, Meghan Bickford, Katie Whittum and Sarah Hansen and Yarmouth’s Emily Lunt.

On the boys’ side, Falmouth’s Conner Burfeind, Greely’s Jason Lewis, Dean Maynard and Peter Westra, NYA’s Tim Millett (the Class C individual champion) and Toey LeBlanc and Yarmouth’s Nick McMenamin, Brian Laverriere and Ian Marr qualified.


The inaugural Western Maine Conference volleyball all-star team featured first-teamers Karlee Biskup, Erin Cadigan and Michaela Campbell of state champion Greely, Carolyn Smyth, Emma Wilberg and Alyssa Yeung of state runner-up Falmouth and Abbie Hutchinson of Yarmouth.

The second team included Falmouth’s Alana Becker and Kate Sparks, Greely’s Maggie Bradley and Mary Zambello, NYA’s Hannah Bewsey and Thu-Trang Ho and Yarmouth’s Kate Darrell.

Congratulations to all of our local all-stars!

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at


N-sportsallstars2-112609.jpgYarmouth senior goalkeeper A.J. Oliver had no peer this season and was named to the Western Maine Conference boys’ soccer all-star team.
N-sportsallstars3-112609.jpgGreely’s Katie Whittum made the Western Maine Conference all-star team this fall.

Sidebar Elements

N-sportsallstars1-112609.jpgNYA junior Frances Leslie was named a Western Maine Conference field hockey all-star after leading the Panthers back to the Class C Final.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.