Tue, Jun 30, 2015 ●
BathHarpswellTopshamBrunswickCumberlandNorth YarmouthFalmouthFreeportPortlandCape ElizabethScarboroughSouth PortlandChebeague IslandYarmouth

Northern School Notebook: May 3


Northern School Notebook: May 3

Schools announce

Principal's award winners

Local member principals of the Maine Principals' Association recently selected the recipients of the 2011 Principal's Awards. The awards, sponsored by the MPA, are presented in more than 140 Maine public and private high schools in recognition of a high school senior's academic achievement and citizenship.  

Charlie A. Lehmer of Freeport High School was selected by Principal Robert A. Strong, Sr.; Margaret Parrish of Falmouth High School was selected by Principal Gregg Palmer; Alison Totta  of Yarmouth High School was selected by Principal Ted Hall; and Brandon Pinette of Greely High School was selected by Principal Dan McKeone.  
The award winners and their principals attended an honors luncheon and plaque presentation ceremony held recently in Bangor.

Local students earn

national scholarships

EVANSTON,  Ill. — National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners were recently announced by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Three local students, Thomas C. Bazarian of Falmouth High School, Andrew D. Dimarco of Yarmouth High School and Benjamin S. Jones of Yarmouth High School, were among 2,500 Merit Scholar designees chosen from a pool of more than 15,000 finalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship competition.

The award is supported by funds from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and can be used at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

Dean's List Announcements, Fall/Winter 2010

Abby Cornish of North Yarmouth, Boston College: Brandon Hethcoat of North Yarmouth, Husson University at Bangor; Anne Goodrich of Falmouth, Loyola University Maryland; Maxwell H. Payson of Falmouth, Phillips Exeter Academy.