Tue, Jul 28, 2015 ●
BathHarpswellTopshamBrunswickCumberlandNorth YarmouthFalmouthFreeportPortlandCape ElizabethScarboroughSouth PortlandChebeague IslandYarmouth

Northern School Notebook: Sept. 22


Northern School Notebook: Sept. 22

Local students reach
national merit semifinals

EVANSTON, Ill. — The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has named 10 students from area high schools as semifinalists in its 55th annual National Merit Scholarship program.

Students who have made the semifinals include Samuel Kurland, William Lones, Sarah Robinson and John Visentin of Greely High School; Ryan Gao of Falmouth High School; Emily Mitchell, Samuel Nye and Ian Steinbach of North Yarmouth Academy; and Sam Richardson and Reed Womack of Yarmouth High School.

Winners of the National Merit Scholarship program will be announced starting in April 2010.

Falmouth High School
hosts 66 AP Scholars

FALMOUTH — The College Board Advanced Placement Program has recognized 66 Falmouth High School students with AP Scholar Awards for achievements on AP Exams taken in 2009.

Ryan Gao and 2009 FHS graduates, Evan Pryzant and Bannus van der Kloot, earned the highest scores with the National AP Scholar Awards.

Ryan Gao also received the AP State Scholar award, which is granted to the top male and female student in each state with the highest scores.

Students receiving the AP Scholars with Distinction Awards are Taylor Applebaum, Sara Bachman, Bradley Barbour, Keren Bitan, Jacqueline Boenisch, Katrina Butt, Kimberly Butt, Alexandrea Carrrier, John Coster, Rachel Eklund, Cara Foley, Ryan Gao, Joseph Horgan, Kristin Jackson, Emily Kingry, Courtney Mazur, Benjamin Moody, Timothy Myers, Chadwick Prichard, Evan Pryzant, Kristen Stogsdill, Bannus van der Kloot, Thomas Winger and Alyssa Yeung.

Students qualifying for the AP Scholar with Honor awards are Braden Bohrmann, Francesca D'Alfonso, Tyler Evers, Kathryn Goffin, Joshua Grassman, William Hayes, Margo Lalumiere, Jennifer Marr, Erin Morris, Grace Nevins, Benjamin Snowdon, Conor Sullivan and Rachael Twombly.

Students receiving an AP Scholar Award are Jesse Aicher, Grace Alexander, Rachel Becker, Caroline Chen, Zachary Connerty-Marin, Kelsey Conroy, Eric D'Agostino, Maria Darrow, Molly Frantzen, Anne Hebson, Eric Hemphill, Jessica Hoch, Bryce Leary, Will Linthicum, Tina Pruyn, John Roberts, Cameron Sheehan, Christopher Stitson, Charles Swerdlow, Benjamin Tweed, Fiona Vella, Joseph Verdi, Kathryn Vogt, Stephen Webel, and Emma Wilberg.