New members join Brunswick council, School Board; King back as council chairwoman

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

BRUNSWICK — New town councilors and School Board members were sworn in during inauguration ceremonies Monday, Jan. 4, at Maine Street Station.

Suzan Wilson, representing Disrict 3, and John Perreault, representing District 4, are the latest additions to the Town Council.

At-large Councilor Joanne King was sworn in for her fifth term. King was also elected chairwoman, a position she held for two years before relinquishing it in 2009.

The elections of King as chairwoman and at-large Councilor Debbie Atwood as vice chairwoman were unanimous. Atwood replaces Benet Pols, who was the vice chairman in 2009.

“I’m looking forward to a busy and productive year,” King said. 

Michelle Small (at-Large) and Corrinne Perreault (District 4) were sworn into the School Board. District 3 member James Corey was absent from the ceremony and will be sworn in at a later date.

The School Board also elected its leadership, unanimously electing former Co-Chairman Byron Watson as chairman while appointing James Grant as vice chairman.

The Town Council also announced some of its committee assignments.

King, along with Councilor Ben Tucker and Councilor David Watson, will continue on the Police Station Search Committee, while Pols, Atwood and Councilor Margo Knight will serve on the Downtown Master Plan Committee.

Wilson, Perreault and Pols will serve on the Appointments Committee.

The council will hold its annual retreat Saturday, Jan. 9. It’s expected to complete its committee assignments at that time.

The council’s next regularly scheduled meeting is Jan. 25.

The School Board will hold a meeting Jan. 13. Excluding workshops, it will meet the second Wednesday of every month for the remainder of the year.

Steve Mistler can be reached at 373-9060 ext. 123 or