New districts, no contests in Portland legislative primaries

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

PORTLAND — Although candidates for the Legislature fill the June ballot after Monday’s filing deadline, there won’t be any contested party primaries in the city.

Incumbent Cumberland County Sheriff Kevin Joyce of Standish, however, is opposed in the Democratic primary by former Maine State Police Sgt. Michael Edes, of Cumberland.

The primary elections usher in new district designations and borders in the Maine House and Senate after redistricting that was completed last year.

Senate President Justin Alfond, Republican Peter Doyle, and Green Party candidate Asher Platts are on the ballot in Senate District 27, formerly Senate District 8, which covers the eastern part of the city and the Casco Bay islands.

To the west, in Senate District 28, formerly District 9, incumbent Democrat Anne Haskell is joined on the ballot by Republican Rosemarie Russell of Westbrook and Green Party candidate Danielle Unterreiner. District 28 also includes a portion of Westbrook.

A three-way race is on the horizon in the new House District 36, currently District 116, where Democratic Rep. Denise Harlow is seeking re-election. She is joined on the ballot by Republican Richard Dodge and Green Party candidate Samuel Chandler. The district covers the northern and western portions of the city, to the Falmouth and Westbrook boundaries.

In the new House District 37, incumbent Democrat Richard Farnsworth is joined by Republican Jonathan Pfaff. Farnsworth now represents District 117. District 37 borders Westbrook and extends south to the Portland International Jetport and east toward Interstate 295.

Democratic Rep. Matthew Moonen, now in House District 118, will seek re-election in the new House District 38. Republican Daniel Olsen and Green Party candidate Tom MacMillan are also on the ballot. District 38 includes the city’s West End, running roughly from St. John Street toward the Old Port, with Congress Street as a boundary.

Republican Ashley Ryan joins incumbent Democratic Rep. Diane Russell, who now serves House District 120, which will become House District 39. Green Party candidate Benjamin Schattenburg is also on the ballot. District 39 includes the city’s East End and Casco Bay islands.

In what will become House District 40, former state Rep. Herb Adams is the Democratic candidate, joined by Republican Mark Lockman. Rep. Benjamin Chipman, the independent serving the current House District 119, has until June 2 to file, and Tuesday said he will seek re-election. The new district includes West Bayside, Parkside and a section of Back Cove.

Rep. Erik Jorgensen, the Democrat in House District 115, will run in the new District 41, joined by Republican James Azzola and Reed Berkowitz of the Green Party. District 41 stretches from Interstate 295 north through the Deering area, with Forest Avenue as a boundary.

In what will become House District 42, incumbent Democratic Rep. Peter Stuckey is joined by Republican Marc Lamontagne. Stuckey now serves in House District 114. District 42 extends from north of Back Cove to the Falmouth boundary.

Democratic Rep. Mark Dion, now serving in House District 113, seeks re-election in House District 43, which also includes a portion of Falmouth. Dion is joined on the ballot by Republican Shannon Rafferty-Roy.

Cumberland County Commissioner James Cloutier, a Democrat, is the only candidate in District 5. District Attorney Stephanie Anderson, a Cape Elizabeth Republican, is also the only candidate for her office, as is Judge of Probate Joseph Mazziotti of Falmouth, a Democrat.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Portland City Hall reporter for The Forecaster. Baltimore native, lived in Maine since 1989. A journalist since 2005, covering much of Cumberland and York counties. I joined The Forecaster in 2012.