More candidates added to Freeport ballot

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FREEPORT — Three more candidates qualified Wednesday for the November ballot, which will have only one contested election.

Clinton Goodenow Jr. will run unchallenged for the third available seat on the Sewer District Board of Trustees after taking out and returning nomination papers Wednesday. 

The other two unchallenged Sewer District seats are sought by Trustee and Fire Chief Darrel Fournier and Sewer District Clerk Leland Arris III, who also returned his papers Wednesday.

No one is seeking an open seat on the Water District Board of Trustees.

Andrew Wellen on Wednesday returned papers for the District 4 Town Council seat, where he will run against incumbent Council Chairman Jim Cassida. Melanie Sachs, who ran unsuccessfully in the June Democratic primary for the state House, will be uncontested for the at-large council seat, currently held by Councilor Charlotte Bishop, who is not seeking re-election.

The two incumbent candidates for Regional School District 5 School Board seats will be John Morang and Karin Perlotto VanNostrand, who qualified Wednesday.

Election Day is Nov. 6. Voting will take place at Freeport High School.

Will Graff can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 123 or Follow Will on Twitter: @W_C_Graff.