Mid-Coast spring athletes named to all-star teams in abundance

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Considering the amount of triumph that local athletes produced this spring, it’s no surprise that various postseason all-star teams featured many familiar names.


The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference South Class A baseball first team included Brunswick’s Matt Liscovitz and Jon Simmons and Mt. Ararat’s Tim Bickford and Scott Rogers.

Brunswick’s Kevin Wilson, Morse’s Nate Elwell and Mt. Ararat’s Matt Bickford and Anthony Farrell were named to the second team.

Brunswick’s Sam Guerrette, Liscovitz, Jon Simmons and Adam Totman, Morse’s Elwell and Jaime Wallace and Mt. Ararat’s John Frey qualified for the All-Academic team.


The KVAC South softball first team featured Brunswick’s Emily Hartzell and Morse’s Meagan Hennessey.

Brunswick’s Jessica Russell and Mt. Ararat’s Brooke Graffam were on the second team.

Brunswick’s Hartzell and Mt. Ararat’s Lauren Vachon qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Hartzell played for the Class A/B East team in the Senior All-Star game.


The KVAC Class A boys’ lacrosse first team included Brunswick’s Derek Beaulieu (attack), Mac Caputi (midfield), Jeremy Diaz (goalie) and Max Rosner (defense), along with Mt. Ararat’s Dylan Bousquet-Smith (attack), Christian Lalonde (defense) and Charlie Richards (longstick middie).

The second team featured Brunswick’s Tom Gibson (attack), Taylor Hamilton (longstick middie), Zach McMillan (midfield), Peter Morrell (midfield) and John Williams (defense), along with Mt. Ararat’s Nick Dempsey (midfield).

Brunswick’s Jeremy Brown, Ryan Keating, Rosner and Jordan Timmreck, along with Mt. Ararat’s Lalonde, Ian Messier, Daniel Toth and Steve Tringali, qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Rosner was named Player of the Year and was also chosen All-American. Mt. Ararat’s Lalonde was an Academic All-American.

Brunswick’s Don Glover was chosen Coach of the Year.

In Class B, Morse placed Nick Small (attack) and Pat Wolfe (midfield) on the first team.

Parker Bunce, Tucker Cook, Ben Malcolm, Josh Rosetti, Seth Smith and Lincoln Weiss qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Beaulieu, Keating, Rosner and Timmreck (alternate) and Mt. Ararat’s Dempsey and Lalonde played in the Senior All-Star game.

On the girls’ side, Class A state champion Brunswick had six players named to the KVAC first team. The list included Maggie Caputi, Eliza Halmo, Anna Holmblad, Jackie Kelly, Cecilia Kjellman and Leila Mills. Mt. Ararat’s Meghan Dano and Whitney Dano were also selected for the first team.

Brunswick’s Sammi Youmans, Morse’s Lisett Anderson, Jill Brown and Beth Suggs and Mt. Ararat’s Kristina Johnson made the second team.

Kjellman was named Player of the Year and was also an honorable mention All-American.

Brunswick’s Beth Caputi was chosen Coach of the Year.

The All-Academic team included Brunswick’s Youmans and Morse’s Kate Birdsall, Jill Brown, Jamie Buma, Caitlin Harrington, Emily Powers, Tiffany Russell, Elizabeth Sener and Suggs.

Brunswick’s Kjellman and Youmans, Morse’s Brown (alternate) and Sener and Mt. Ararat’s Meghan Dano played for the Red Squad in the Senior All-Star game.  Caputi helped coach the team.


The KVAC Class A boys’ outdoor track all-conference team included Brunswick’s Mitchell Black, Kenzell Crawford, Will Geoghegan, Matt Hatke, Nate McCue, Parker Merill and Mike Slovenski and Morse’s Alonzo James and Kory Scarponi.

Brunswick’s Merrill and Mt. Ararat’s Sean Perkins and Luc Pham qualified for the All-Academic team.

The girls’ Class A outdoor track team featured Brunswick’s Gaetan Davis, Kyia Jensen, Meghan McDonough, Kathleen McMahon, Cassandra Murano, Kristin Slotnick and Farren Welzel and Mt. Ararat’s Christina Erving, Colby Gail, Katrina Gelwick, Ranid London, Mikaela Melcher and Rebecca Merritt.

The All-Academic team included Brunswick’s Catie Jameson, Morse’s Clementine Eberhart and Maggie Shute and Mt. Ararat’s Erving, Deborah Gray, Jennifer Green and Krislyn Hyatt.


The KVAC South boys’ tennis first team included Mt. Ararat singles players Josh Denison and Mike Hill and Brunswick’s doubles tandem Joe Messerman and Christian Schneider.

The second team featured Mt. Ararat’s Nate Rohman at second singles and the Brunswick doubles pairing of Daniel Pavitt and Sebastian Van Dyck.

Morse’s Chris Roche and Mt. Ararat’s Joshua Bryant and Denison qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Rebecca Christiansen was named Coach of the Year.

On the girls’ side, the second team featured Brunswick’s Lucy Morrell at first singles and two Dragons doubles teams: Sarah Manter and Adrienne Pouliot and Erin Kenyon and Shannon Kenyon. Morse’s Adrienne Jaeger (second singles) and Meo Pourreyron (third singles) also made the second team.

Brunswick’s Sydney Ford, Morse’s Kelsey Boyce, Tori Haggett, Jaeger, Kelsey Marco and Brianna Shirley and Mt. Ararat’s Amanda Hart-Hempstead and Piaoyu Ying qualified for the All-Academic team.

Morse’s Gretchen Parlin was named Coach of the Year.






MtABLBouquet-Smith.JPGMt. Ararat’s Dylan Bousquet-Smith, left, and Brunswick’s Max Rosner were both honored for their lacrosse excellence this spring.
MorseSHennessey.JPGMorse’s Meagan Hennessey was a first-team KVAC softball selection.
MtAGTrErving.JPGMt. Ararat’s Christina Erving mad the KVAC first-team in outdoor track.