Mid-Coast Sports Roundup

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Brunswick soccer players, coach honored

Brunswick girls’ soccer coach Martyn Davison was chosen as the girls’ Eastern Maine Coach of the Year and was nominated as the New England Region 1 Coach of the Year at Sunday’s 36th annual Maine Soccer Coaches’ Association All-Star banquet. One of Davison’s star players, Allison Walton, was selected for the girls’ All-New England team. Walton shared the girls’ Class A Player of the Year honors with Waterville’s Jordan Pellerin. Brunswick’s Justin Rosner was named to the boys’ All-New England squad.

Local football players named all-conference

Brunswick, Morse and Mt. Ararat had players selected for the Pine Tree Conference all-star team. The Class A first team offense included Brunswick tight end Ed Bonar, tackle Harrison Kemp and utility Rashon Edgerton. The second team featured Brunswick quarterback Stefan Jensen, center Alex Tate and Mt. Ararat punter Mike Baston. The first team defense boasted Brunswick linebackers James Cejka and John Williams and Mt. Ararat linebacker Frankie True. The second team included Brunswick lineman Jake Pfaff. In Class B, the first team offense featured Morse running back Pat Wolfe, guard Jay Underwood and tight end J Cavanagh. Morse utilty Mike Walton made the second team. Wolfe was named Offensive Player of the Year. On defense, Morse end Nick Moore, linebacker Cavanagh, linebacker Tyler Russell and defensive back Walton made the first team. The All-Academic squad included Morse’s Cavanagh, Russell and Walton.

Local runners named to Coaches’ cross country all-star team

Brunswick’s Will Geoghegan, the Class A individual state champion, teammate Liam Cassidy and Morse’s Jason Kaake were named to the 2009 Maine Track and Cross Country Coaches’ Association all-star first team. Brunswick’s Kathleen McMahon made the girls’ first-team. Mt. Ararat’s Kate Spies was named to the second team.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.