McAuley Lions Spring Athlete of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0


  • SMAA all-star, shot put

Krieckhaus switched from tennis to track, made the most of her one outdoor season, came up big at the state meet and best of all, we haven’t heard the last of her.

Krieckhaus played soccer and tennis as a freshman, sophomore and junior, but as a senior, she finally gave in to track coach Tim Donovan’s longtime badgering and decided to compete.

Indoors, Krieckhaus came in second in the shot put at the SMAA championship meet, then came in seventh at the Class B state meet.

This spring, Krieckhaus picked up the discus as well as the shot put and qualified for the Class C state meet in both events. 

Krieckhaus, who was hindered by nerves at the indoor state meet, struggled early at states, then unleashed a throw of 35 feet, 11 inches, a personal best, and that allowed her to place second in the shot put.

“I was very surprised and excited,” Krieckhaus said. “Throwing was hard to pick up but I liked it. I’m pretty competitive. I’ve been involved in sports since I could walk. Coach was very helpful and I loved the team. I had a lot of friends on the team and everyone supported everyone.”

Krieckhaus also took part in McAuley’s Key Club and was the president of the school’s Equestrian Club (she’s a competitive rider). She also likes to swim and ski. Next year, Krieckhaus will attend and throw at Loyola University in New Orleans, where she plans to study business/marketing.

Not too shabby for someone who just started throwing. Sophia Krieckhaus, McAuley’s Spring Athlete of the Year, is a natural talent and she’s only going to get better.

Coach Tim Donovan’s comment: “I had harassed Sophia to come out for indoor track this past year and after she finished just out of the medals, I told her she had to come out for spring track and she agreed. She worked very hard. In practice, she had huge throws in the discus, throws that would have won the Class C state meet. Sophia always has a smile and is loved by everyone on the team. She was a joy to work with and she will be missed. I’m very proud she’s going to throw in college.”

Previous winners:

2015 Elizabeth Poulin (lacrosse)

2014 Olivia Smith (track)

2013 Katherine Lake (lacrosse)

2012 Addie Devine (tennis)

2011 Shelby Bryant (softball)

2010 Shelby Bryant (softball)

2009 Erin Woodbury (tennis)

2008 Katelyn Call (softball)

2007 Abby Iselborn (track)

2006 Abby Iselborn (track)

2005 Abby Iselborn (track)

2004 Maureen Wark (lacrosse and track)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements


Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.