McAuley Lions Spring Athlete of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

(Ed. Note: This story will appear in our July 11 Portland print edition)

2012 Spring Female Athlete of the Year:

ADDIE DEVINE, Senior-Tennis


* SMAA All-Conference, first-team

* SMAA All-Academic team

Devine got the attention and acclaim she so richly deserved this spring, leading McAuley to the state championship match for the first time in five years.

Devine is from Cumberland and started playing tennis in middle school. She became a fixture with the Lions as a freshman, playing second singles, then shot to the No. 1 spot as a sophomore, a position she never relinquished.

This spring, Devine and her teammates had no peer in league competition, winning all 12 regular season matches and three more in the playoffs to make it to the state final. Through it all, Devine never had a breather, facing and beating the best that the region had to offer. Not only did she win every match she played, she won all of them in straight sets.

Devine’s undefeated run and that of McAuley finally ended in the Class A Final. Devine did manage to keep Brunswick star and state singles champion Maisie Silverman on the court for 80 minutes, but ultimately dropped a 0-6, 1-6 decision as the Lions lost to the Dragons, 3-2.

Devine also made the round of 16 of the state singles tournament.

In her high school career, Devine lost a total of four matches.

Devine is serious between the lines, but credits her ability to have fun for her success.

Devine is also musically inclined, playing the guitar and singing. She’s very excited about a ukulele she got as a graduation gift. At McAuley, she belonged to Student Council, the Social Action Club, Ambassador Club and the yearbook. She’ll take her talents to the College of the Holy Cross next school year.

She’ll leave a pretty big hole in her wake. For four years, Devine was a huge part of a competitive team and this spring, she was close to unbeatable.

Coach Joe Kilmartin’s comment: “Without Addie, we wouldn’t have gotten as far as we did. She had a wonderful record. She only lost four matches in four years. Three years, she played No. 1 for us. She had great determination and hit great shots. She has a good mind for tennis. She’s very patient.”

2011 winner: Shelby Bryant (softball)

2010 winner: Shelby Bryant (softball)

2009 winner: Erin Woodbury (tennis)

2008 winner: Katelyn Call (softball)

2007 winner: Abby Iselborn (track)

2006 winner: Abby Iselborn (track)

2005 winner: Abby Iselborn (track)

2004 winner: Maureen Wark (lacrosse and track)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements


Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.