Local spring all-stars honored

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

The spring sports season circa 2012 had its share of all-star performers and several standouts from Forecaster Country were honored for their efforts.

Here’s a breakdown:


The Southern Maine Activities Association Cumberland County baseball first-team featured South Portland outfielders Brendan Horton and Nick Whitten.

The York County first-team included Scarborough shortstop and pitcher Joe Cronin and pitcher and outfielder Ben Wessel.

Scarborough’s Cronin (shortstop), Greg Viola (outfield) and Sam Wessel (first base) were named to the York County All-Defensive team.

The Cumberland County All-Rookie team included South Portland’s Jack Lano (second base).

The York County All-Rookie team featured Scarborough’s Viola (outfield), Brendan Hall (outfield) and Jayme Lappin (pitcher).

The Western Maine Conference Class B second team included Cape Elizabeth’s Max Gore (outfield), Charlie Laprade (second base) and Will LeBlond (pitcher).

Cape Elizabeth’s Gore and Matthew Pierce qualified for the All-Academic team.

Scarborough’s Coner McCann was given the Fred Harlow Award, for all-around play, dedication and attitude.

Scarborough’s Ben Wessel was named the SMAA Most Valuable Player, won the league’s batting title and was given the Winkin/Mr. Baseball Award.


The SMAA softball first-team featured Scarborough’s Dominique Burnham (outfield), Erin Giles (pitcher), Mo Hannan (flex) and Alyssa Williamson (first base) and South Portland’s Erin Bogdanovich (pitcher), Laurine German (second base), Danica Gleason (shortstop) and Olivia Indorf (outfield)

Scarborough’s Marisa O’Toole was named to the second team.

Scarborough’s Megan Murrell and South Portland’s Libby Grant were honorable mentions.

The All-Academic squad included Scarborough’s Burnham and South Portland’s Grant.

In the WMC, the Class B first team boasted Cape Elizabeth freshman shortstop Ashley Tinsman.

Cape Elizabeth’s Emily Ham and Ali Johnson both qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Boys’ lacrosse

The SMAA boys’ lacrosse first team featured Scarborough senior attack Jon Blaisdell and junior attack John Wheeler and South Portland senior utilityman Joey DiBiase.

Scarborough senior utilityman Dalton Finley, senior defender Garrett Hazelwood and senior longstick middie Andrew Jones and South Portland senior middie Mike Salvatore made the second team.

Honorable mentions included Scarborough senior middie Luke Erwin and South Portland senior longstick middie Logan Gaddar.

Scarborough was crowned the SMAA champion.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth senior attack Timmy Lavallee and senior defender Ned Melanson made the first team.

Cape Elizabeth junior attack Alex Bornick, senior middies Tom Bottomley and Brian Brett, junior defender Adam Haversat and junior longstick middie Brandon Negele were named to the second team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Brett, Kevin Flathers, Forrest Hewitt, Lavallee, Ian McInerney and Melanson qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Lavallee and Melanson, Scarborough’s Blaisdell and South Portland’s Salvatore played for the West in the Senior All-Star Game.

The West won, 17-4.

Cape Elizabeth’s Lavallee and Scarborough’s Wheeler were named All-Americans.

Girls’ lacrosse

Scarborough’s three-time Class A state champion girls’ lacrosse team placed five players on the SMAA first team: defender Shauni Cowan, midfielders Kelsey Howard, Mary Scott and Maggie Smith and attack Laura Przybylowicz.

South Portland goalie Lily SanGiovanni was named to the second team.

South Portland’s Maryalice Gurnee and Anh Nguyen were honorable mentions.

The All-Rookie team featured South Portland’s SanGiovanni.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth, which had its best season in a decade, placed senior goalie Elin Sonesson, junior midfielder Talley Perkins and junior attack Lauren Steidl on the first team.

Capers junior defender Jane Coffrin was named to the second team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Caroline Kelly qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Sonesson (seven saves) and Bella Robinson (one goal) and South Portland’s Gurnee played for the Navy team in the Senior All-Star Game. Cape Elizabeth’s Janessa White was an alternate.

Scarborough’s Cowan, Howard (one goal, one assist), Przybylowicz (three goals), Scott (three goals, one assist) and Smith competed on the Red squad, which won, 13-10.

Cape Elizabeth’s Steidl was named one of Maine’s two All-Americans. Scarborough’s Howard and Scott were All-American honorable mentions.

Cape Elizabeth’s Coffrin, Steidl and Wallace and Scarborough’s Cowan, Breanna Goode, Howard, Przybylowicz and Scott were all All-American All-Academic team qualifiers.

Outdoor track

The SMAA girls’ outdoor track first-team included Scarborough’s Nicole Kirk (100 and 200), Emily Tolman (400 and 800) and Catherine Bailey (pole vault). The Red Storm’s 400 relay (Bailey, Sarah Rinaldi, Karli-An Gilbert and Kirk) and 1,600 relay (Marisa Agger, Kirk, Gilbert and Tolman) also qualified for the first team.

Scarborough’s Tolman (pole vault) and Haela Booth-Howe (javelin) made the second team.

Honorable mentions included Scarborough’s Rinaldi (high jump) and Tolman (200) and South Portland’s Nyajock Pan (400 and 800).

Scarborough’s Booth-Howe, Tolman and Andrea Tolman qualified for the All-Academic team.

The boys’ first team featured Scarborough’s Wout Moulin (mile) and Alec James (pole vault).

The second team boasted Scarborough’s Kevin Manning (javelin and pole vault).

Honorable mentions included Scarborough’s Moulin (two-mile) and Mike Tudor (800).

All-Academic team qualifiers included Scarborough’s Moulin, Nick Morris and John Passarelli and South Portland’s Daniel Medici.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Christina Kouros (800 wheelchair and mile wheelchair) made the Division I girls’ first team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Tori Brigham and Noelle Webster qualified for the All-Academic team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Andrew Lavallee (shot put) made the Division I boys’ first team.

The boys’ Division I second team included Cape Elizabeth’s Paul Hamerski (discus).

Cape Elizabeth’s Hamerski and Jacob Wasserman qualified for the All-Academic team.


The SMAA boys’ singles tennis second team included Scarborough’s Alex Henny.

Scarborough’s Zach Pelczar and Dan Slavin made the doubles second team.

Scarborough’s Adam Cohen, Henny, John Herrman and Pelczar and South Portland’s Joseph Hendricks and Justin O’Riordon qualified for the All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Matt Gilman and Satchel McCarthy made the singles first team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Sam Sherman was named to the singles second team.

The WMC doubles first team consisted of Capers Eli Breed and Luke Gilman.

The SMAA girls’ singles second team featured Scarborough’s Rachel Webber.

Scarborough’s Maria Philbrick and Katie Wahrer were doubles first teamers.

Scarborough’s Webber and South Portland’s Melissa Davis qualified for the All-Academic team.

In the WMC, the singles second team included Cape Elizabeth’s Allie Briggs and Catie MacDonald.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Scarborough’s Ben Wessel was showered with postseason accolades this spring.

Cape Elizabeth junior Talley Perkins was named one of the Western Maine Conference’s best girls’ lacrosse players.

South Portland freshman Laurine German made an immediate splash this spring and was named an SMAA first-team all-star.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.