Local hoops standouts honored-Northern edition

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

After six of 10 local basketball teams reached the postseason, three made it to the regional finals and one, the Falmouth boys, won a state title, it’s no surprise that the Western Maine Conference all-star teams featured a lot of familiar names.

Yachtsmen lead the way

Falmouth won its first Class A title this winter and the WMC Class A first-team boasted senior standout Thomas Coyne, along with Greely’s Jordan Bagshaw and Matt McDevitt, Kennebunk’s Zach MacKinnon and York’s Trevor LaBonte.

The Class A second-team included Falmouth’s Colin Coyne and Greely’s Calvin Soule. They were joined by Cape Elizabeth’s Finn Bowe and Quinn Hewitt and Fryeburg Academy’s Oscar Saunders.

In Class B, Yarmouth’s Musseit M’Bareck and Aleksandar Medenica joined Jack Lesure and Nate Smith of state champion Lake Region and John Fossett of Poland on the first-team.

The second-team included Freeport’s Jack Davenport and Yarmouth’s Nolan Hagerty, along with Gray-New Gloucester’s Zack Haskell, Lake Region’s Marcus DeVoe and Wells’ Deandre Woods.

In Class C, North Yarmouth Academy’s Haven Cutko joined Old Orchard Beach’s Evan Christiansen and Erik Hogan and Waynflete’s Milo Belleau and Yai Deng on the first-team.

NYA’s Jake Malcom was a second-team selection, along with OOB’s Ian Regan, Waynflete’s Abel Alemayo and Will Nelligan and Traip Academy’s Coleman Pelkey and Angelo Succi.

Falmouth’s Matthew Barnard and Nick Wissemann, Greely’s Calvin Soule and Yarmouth’s Cody Cook and Conor O’Donnell qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Falmouth’s Thomas Coyne, Freeport’s Davenport, Greely’s Soule and Yarmouth’s M’Bareck took part in the WMC Senior All-Star Game. Greely’s Travis Seaver served as a coach.

Thomas Coyne was a Bob Butler Award finalist.

Coyne also competed on the Class AA/A/B South team in the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Game and was a finalist for the Mr. Maine Basketball Award, which was won by Hampden Academy’s Nick Gilpin.

Girl power

The WMC girls’ Class A first-team featured Greely freshman phenom Anna DeWolfe, who was joined by Cape Elizabeth’s Maddie Bowe, Fryeburg Academy’s Julia Quinn and York’s Chloe Smedley and Shannon Todd. 

Greely’s Molly Chapin was named to the second-team, along with Cape Elizabeth’s Carter Harvey, Fryeburg Academy’s Mackenzie Buzzell and Alexis L’Heureux Carland and York’s Mia Briggs.

In Class B, Yarmouth’s Alison Clark made the first-team, along with Gray-New Gloucester’s Skye Conley, Lake Region’s Kristen Huntress, Poland’s Nathalie Theriault and Wells’ Natalie Thurber.

Freeport’s Kayla Belanger and Yarmouth’s Cory Langenbach made the second-team, along with Gray-New Gloucester’s Isabelle DeTroy, Lake Region’s Spencer True and Sacopee Valley’s Abby Hughes.

In Class C, NYA’s Maggie Larson was named to the second-team.

Freeport’s Kayla Belanger, Greely’s Maddy Cyr, NYA’s Julia Blackwell and Yarmouth’s Sarah Kirk qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Freeport’s Belanger and Jess Wall and Greely’s Sarah Felkel took part in the WMC Senior All-Star Game. Greely’s Joel Rogers served as a coach.

Greely’s Isabel Porter was the South Region foul shooting champion, then sank 48 of 50 attempts to win the state title.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Colin Coyne played a key role in Falmouth’s first-ever Class A state title and was named to the Western Maine Conference boys’ all-star team.

Greely’s Molly Chapin had another strong season and earned mention on the WMC all-star team.

North Yarmouth Academy freshman Maggie Larson capped her strong debut season by being named to the WMC all-star team.

Yarmouth senior Musseit M’Bareck capped his solid career by being named to the WMC all-star team.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.