Local fire science students win scholarships

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

SOUTH PORTLAND — Southern Maine Community College presented scholarships to seven Fire Science students in recognition of their academic performance and community service. The scholarships total more than $1,500.

Thomas Ginn, a second-year Fire Science student from Calais, received the 2010 Chet Wiles Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship provides financial assistance to a fire/rescue department member to help with their training and education. Priority is given to those applicants from resource-challenged communities and fire departments facing financial barriers.

Ginn is a live-in student at the Yarmouth Fire Department whose career goal is to become a full time firefighter/paramedic.

Zachary Tooker of Westfield, Mass., received the Daryl P. Wells Scholarship. Tooker is a second-year Fire Science student and live-in at Falmouth Fire Department.

The intent of the Wells scholarship is to help firefighters earn degrees in Fire Science Technology. Special consideration is given to candidates who show interest in firefighter training and public fire safety education.

Abigail Kelley of St. Albans, Vt., received the Stephen G. Hasson Scholarship. Kelly was a live-in student at Yarmouth Fire Department and recent graduate from SMCC’s Fire Science program. She is currently working toward another associate degree in Paramedicine.

The purpose of the Hasson scholarship is to recognize and assist full time SMCC Fire Science students who demonstrate interest and involvement in the area of fire and life safety education and community risk reduction.