Lennon elected chairwoman of Cape council

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

CAPE ELIZABETH — Councilor Sara Lennon is the new chairwoman of the Town Council.

The council caucused on Dec. 5 to discuss leadership and committee appointments, and made the decisions official Monday, Dec. 12.

Councilor Frank Governali was elected vice chairman and was named the chairman of the Finance Committee, a committee of the whole council.

Councilor Jessica Sullivan will serve as the Appointments Committee chairwoman and continue as the representative to the Thomas Memorial Library Foundation. 

Councilor Kathy Ray will replace former Councilor Anne Swift-Kayatta on the Ordinance Committee, and Lennon and Governali will serve as the chairwoman and vice chairman of the board of the Museum at Portland Head Light.

The new Future Open Space Preservation Committee is made up of Sullivan, Governali and Councilor Caitlin Jordan.

Councilors also voted to start their meetings a half hour earlier, at 7 p.m.

The council on Monday also met in executive session to discuss Michael Concannon’s request for an easement to the town-owned high school driveway off Ocean House Road. Concannon plans to build a gourmet market on the lot adjacent to the high school, and would like to create an exit to the high school driveway.

No vote was taken after the executive session. Town Manager Michael McGovern said he expects the issue to be discussed publicly at a January meeting.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or aanderson@theforecaster.net. Follow her on Twitter: @amy_k_anderson.

Sidebar Elements

Cape School Board re-elects Townsend, Christie

CAPE ELIZABETH — School Board members on Tuesday, Dec. 13, re-elected Mary Townsend as chairwoman and John Christie as vice chairman.

Board member Michael Moore will serve as the Finance Committee chairman and Christie will be chairman of the Policy Committee.