Kittredge, Bickford Hamrock, Bates elected to Yarmouth Council

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

YARMOUTH — Residents on Tuesday elected incumbents Andrew Kittredge and Randall Bates and newcomer Tamson Bickford Hamrock to three-year terms on the Town Council. Robert Waeldner, another newcomer, ran unsuccessfully.

Councilor Leslie Hyde chose not to seek a second term.

Kittredge received the most votes, 1,061, followed by Bickford Hamrock, with 1,050, and Bates, with 925. Waeldner received 752.

Bickford Hamrock, 56, is the daughter of Erving Bickford, an eight-term councilor who died in 2012. She graduated from Yarmouth High School and studied English and finance at Simmons College in Boston.

Bickford Hamrock worked for 25 years in international banking, commuting between London and New York, as well as to Singapore. She helped brand financial giant Citigroup in conjunction with the 1998 merger of Citicorp and Travelers Group. In 2002, she opened an interior design firm called Kismet. She returned to Yarmouth three years ago.

“I’m honored and grateful to be able to represent the town of Yarmouth,” Bickford Hamrock said. “I think people see that I’m committed to the issues and to seeing the town of Yarmouth move forward in a positive way — in a diversified and unified way.

“It’s an exciting time for the town of Yarmouth, and I do think we’re at a tipping point. I’m delighted to be a part of the future.”

Kittredge, 35, was elected to a second council term. The YHS grad has lived in Yarmouth for almost his life. He studied engineering at the University of Maine and today works as a project manager for CPM Constructors.

Bates, 46, was also elected to a second term. A native of Newport, Rhode Island, he studied political science at Bates College and earned a law degree from the University of Maine. He worked as a criminal defense attorney at Strike, Goodwin & O’Brien in Portland before opening his own law firm two years ago.

In other local elections, incumbent Margaret Groban and newcomer Philip Jones ran unopposed for seats on the Yarmouth School Committee, and incumbents Irv Felker Jr. and Susan Krauss ran unopposed for seats on the Water District board.

School budget passes

In a state-mandated referendum, residents on Tuesday voted 1,187 to 299 to approve a $21.17 million school budget for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, a 1.8 percent increase over spending in the current year.

The town’s aggregate budget for 2014-2015, combining the municipal and education budgets, will be $33.5 million, lowering the property tax rate by about 1.5 percent. The mil rate will drop to $21.67 per $1,000 of assessed value.

Brendan Twist can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 123 or Follow him on Twitter:@brendantwist.

Sidebar Elements

Bickford Hamrock