It was a starry winter indeed

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

After a winter season of so much triumph and drama, it’s no surprise that an abundance of standout athletes from Forecaster Country found their way on to postseason all-star lists.

Here’s a glimpse:

Boys’ basketball

The Southwestern Maine Activities Association second-team included Scarborough’s Matt Hartl.

Scarborough’s Milani Hicks and Nate Wessel were honorable mentions.

The SMAA All-Rookie team included Scarborough’s Hicks and Wessel and South Portland’s Jack Fiorini.

Scarborough’s Alec Cohen, Hartl, Jacob MacDonald and Benjamin Garrard and South Portland’s Patrick Conley qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

The Western Maine Conference boys’ basketball Class A/B second-team included Cape Elizabeth’s Eddie Galvin.

Cape Elizabeth’s Jack Hall qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Girls’ basketball

On the girls’ side, in the SMAA, Scarborough junior Ashley Briggs made the first-team.

South Portland sophomore Maddie Hasson made the second-team.

South Portland senior Brianne Maloney was named to the third-team.

The SMAA All-Rookie team included Scarborough freshman Brooke Malone and South Portland freshman Lydia Henderson.

Scarborough’s Briggs was named to the All-Defensive team.

The girls’ WMC Class A/B third-team included Cape Elizabeth’s Montana Braxton.

Cape Elizabeth’s Kate Miklavic was a WMC Senior All-Star.

Cape Elizabeth’s Miklavic and Emma O’Rourke qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

South Portland’s Maloney represented Western A/B in the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Game. Maloney had four points as the West won, 83-44.

Cape Elizabeth’s Miklavic was named to the girls’ All-State All-Academic team.

Last, but not least, South Portland’s Maloney was named to the West team for the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Game.

Boys’ hockey

On the ice, the All-West all-state first-team included Scarborough forwards Jake Gross and Matt Henderson and defenseman Cam Loiselle.

Scarborough goalie Ben Bragg, defenseman Eric Grantz and forward Cam Brochu were second-teamers.

In Tier 2/3, South Portland defenseman Christian Guignard and Dylan Farrell-Reny and forwards Kyle Halvorsen and Andrew Whipple were named all-stars.

South Portland’s Joe Robinson was named the Tier 2/3 Coach of the Year.

Scarborough’s Brochu, Grantz, Gross and Loiselle and South Portland’s Guignard were Senior All-Stars.

Scarborough’s Loiselle was a Travis Roy Award nominee.

In Western B, Cape Elizabeth sophomore forward Curtis Guimond and goalie Kevin Hare were honorable mention selections.

Girls’ hockey

On the girls’ side, state champion Scarborough placed three players on the West Region first-team: goalie Devan Kane and forwards Lizzie Gross and Sami Shoebottom. They were joined by Capeflete goalie Lily Jordan and forward Kathryn Clark.

Second-teamers included Capeflete forward Hannah Bosworth and defender Kate Ginder and Scarborough forward Alyssa Hulst and defenders Lily Nygruen and Riley McKeown.

Capeflete forward Julia Ginder and Scarborough forward Rachael Wallace were honorable mentions.

Indoor track

Scarborough and South Portland placed several athletes on the SMAA indoor track and field all-conference team.

First-teamers included Scarborough’s Griffin Madden (junior 55 hurdles), Colin Tardiff (junior 800, open two-mile), Sam Rusak (junior high jump, open pole vault), Michael Pino (senior shot put), Jacob Terry (open mile) and the Red Storm’s open sprint medley (Sam Ware, Alex Karam, Chris Dionne, Colin Jones), junior 800 (Matthew Blaisdell, Madden, Elliot Youth, Rusak), senior 800 (Austin Doody, Jerry Kenney, Cam Langlois, Max Ornstein) and open 3,200 (Lucas Foerster, Will Fowler, Karam, Sam Webber) relay teams and South Portland’s Daniel Giuliani (junior shot put), Michael Cuesta (senior triple jump) and Duncan Preston (senior long jump).

Scarborough’s Tardiff (junior 400), Hugh McSorley (senior shot put), Edward James (open pole vault), Terry (open two-mile), Youth (junior triple jump) and South Portland’s Jacob Maloney (junior 800) and Ben Michaud (senior triple jump) were second-teamers.

Scarborough’s Rusak (junior long jump), James (senior high jump), Tardiff (open mile) and Jones (open 600, senior 800) and South Portland’s Preston (triple jump, senior shot put) made the third-team.

The WMC second-team included Cape Elizabeth’s Deven Roberts (high jump) and Liam Simpson (mile, two-mile).

Cape Elizabeth’s Roberts, Simpson, Trevor Ewald, Trevor Gale and Nicholas Shedd qualified for the All-Academic team.

Scarborough’s Pino and South Portland’s Cuesta and Preston were named to the all-state first-team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Simpson and Mitch Morris, Scarborough’s Langlois and Terry and South Portland’s Michaud were all-state honorable mentions.

On the girls’ side, in the SMAA, first-teamers included Scarborough’s Sydney Rusak (junior 55 hurdles) and the Red Storm’s junior 800 relay team (Edie Christian, Ellen Shaw, Rusak, Aly Atherton) and South Portland’s Callie O’Brien (junior 55).

Scarborough’s Atherton (junior 400), Emma Koukos (junior 800), Natalie Foster (senior high jump) and Cailley Ledue (open pole vault) and South Portland’s O’Brien (junior high jump), Shannon Conley (senior 400, open mile) and Bridget Campbell (senior triple jump) were second-teamers.

Scarborough’s Shaw (junior high jump) and Sarah Rinaldi (senior high jump) and South Portland’s O’Brien (junior 55 hurdles), Conley (senior 800), Michelle Medici (senior shot put) and Lauren Magnuson (senior 55, senior 200) made the third-team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Haley Petsinger (800) was a first-teamer.

South Portland’s Conley and Magnuson were all-state honorable mentions.


The boys’ swimming all-conference squad featured Cape Elizabeth’s Jordan Petersen (medley relay, 200 freestyle) and Scarborough’s Kyle Ankermann (200 free relay) and Nate Erickson (diving).

The girls’ all-conference team included Cape Elizabeth’s Sydney Wight (100 free, 200 free, 400 free relay), Caroline Herriman (medley relay, 200 free relay, 400 free relay), Michaela Pinette (diving) and Sadie Stiles (100 breaststroke).

Cape Elizabeth’s Wight (200 free, 400 free relay) made the girls’ all-state team.


Scarborough’s Matthew McAlary and Andrew Mills made the SMAA all-conference team.

Scarborough’s Anders Jepson qualified for the All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, in the SMAA, Scarborough’s Abby Mills was the champion of both the slalom and giant slalom and made the all-conference team, along with teammate Sarah Hassler.

Cape Elizabeth’s Emma Landes, Sophie Hewitt, Emma Dvorozniak and Caroline Paclat were named to the WMC all-conference team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Emma Dvorozniak and Sophie Hewitt and Scarborough’s Abby Mills qualified for the NENSA Eastern championships.

On the Nordic side, the WMC boys’ All-Academic team featured Cape Elizabeth’s Andrew Holliday and Matthew Reale-Hattem.

The girls’ WMC all-conference team included Cape Elizabeth’s Dana Hatton.

Hatton also qualified for the NENSA Eastern championships.


Scarborough’s Mikaela Coombs, Lindsay Hague and Lia Tonneson all made the SMAA cheering all-conference first-team.

Scarborough’s Kaicee Flaherty and Courtney Noiles and South Portland’s Sarah Kinder and Mikayla Phinney were second-teamers.

Scarborough’s Samantha Albert was an honorable mention.

Scarborough’s Coombs and Erica Hanson qualified for the All-Academic team.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Cape Elizabeth’s Eddie Galvin made the Western Maine Conference boys’ basketball all-star team this winter.

South Portland senior Brianne Maloney was an SMAA all-star this past season.

Scarborough’s Jake Gross was an all-state boys’ hockey player this winter.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.