It was a spring full of stars-Portland edition

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

The spring of 2016 saw an abundance of stellar performances from local athletes and a large number of them earned mention on postseason all-star teams.

Here’s a breakdown:


Cheverus, Deering and Portland’s baseball teams all enjoyed winning seasons his spring and reached the playoffs. All three squads had players named to the Southwestern Maine Activities Association All-Conference team.

The first team included Cheverus outfielder Jack Casale, Deering outfielder Dom Bernard and Portland designated hitter Joey Fusco, shortstop Jake Knop and second baseman Dom Tocci.

Cheverus designated hitter Jared Brooks, pitcher Alex Jacobs and first baseman Jensen LaPoint, Deering outfielder Nate Loranger and Portland pitchers Charles Barnard and Dan Marzilli, outfielder Nick Archambault and third baseman Jack Nichols were all selected for the second team. 

Cheverus’ Tre Fletcher and Deering’s Colby Dame were honorable mention selections.

Deering’s Bernard and Portland’s Knop were named to the SMAA All-Defensive team.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Jonathan Bernier, Kyle Dill, Andrek Dumond, Matthew LaPoint, Patrick Sullivan, Josh Veroneau and Jack Whaley, Deering’s Dom Bernard, Max Chabot, Patrick Viola and Mitchell York and Portland’s Charles Barnard, Joe Clayton, Jacob Hunnewell, Zack Fortin and George Chaison-Lapine.

In the Western Maine Conference, Waynflete’s Thomas Silk was named to the second team.

Waynflete’s Ben Mallon qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Cheverus’ Alex Jacobs and Jensen Lapoint and Deering’s Dom Bernard represented the South in the Class A/B Senior All-Star Game.

Cheverus’ Jared Brooks and Tre Fletcher and Deering’s Colby Dame and James Sinclair played in the Underclass All-Star Game.

Cheverus’ Tre Fletcher was named to the USA Today Maine team.


The SMAA softball all-star team featured Cheverus’ Ally Tillotson as a first team reserve.

Cheverus’ Sophia Giancotti and Isabella Santoro, Deering’s Cassidy Coyne and Kaytlin DiBiase, McAuley’s Maddy Beaulieu and Elizabeth Kennedy and Portland’s Morgan Boyle and Jess Brown were all honorable mentions.

Cheverus’ Sophia Giancotti and Jill Hannigan, Deering’s Cassidy Coyne and Siobhan Densmore, McAuley’s Chelsea Rairdon and Portland’s Anna Freund all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Boys’ lacrosse

The SMAA boys’ lacrosse all-star first team included Deering defenseman Max Hornblower and midfielder Nate Richards.

Cheverus attack Frank Curran and midfielder Alex Nason were named to the second team.

Cheverus defenseman Kieran Conley, Deering attack Andrew Johnson and Portland goalie Aaron Hoekstra were all honorable mention selections.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Daniel Baker and Alex Nason, Deering’s Christian Castaneda and Portland’s Ride an Mijad, Charlie Kovarik, Robert Nolan and Nathan Tomascak.

In the WMC, Waynflete midfielder Cooper Chap made the first team.

Waynflete defenseman Will Lewis was named to the second team.

Waynflete attack Will Nelligan was an honorable mention.

Nelligan and Reilly Musgrave qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

Musgrave and Nelligan also qualified for the US Lacrosse All-Academic team.

Cheverus’ Nason, Deering’s Johnson and Waynflete’s Lewis and Nelligan played in the Senior All-Star Game.

Cheverus’ Finn Cawley, Max Coffin and Kieran Conley, Deering’s Nate Richards and Chase Walters and Waynflete’s Miles Lipton played in the Underclass All-Star Game.

Girls’ lacrosse

On the girls’ side, the WMC first team included Waynflete midfielder Nina Moore.

Waynflete midfielder Isabel Canning and attack Christian Rowe made the second team.

Waynflete’s Anne Veroneau was an honorable mention selection.

Waynflete’s Moore, Rowe, Veroneau, Charlotte Majercik and Meddy Smith all qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

In the SMAA, Portland midfielder Merritt Ryan made the first team.

Deering attack Megan Violette and Portland defender Ellie Zukowski were named to the second team.

Cheverus’ Alayna Briggs, Abby Cavallaro, McKenzie Johnston and Allie Scott, Deering’s Kayla Thoits and McAuley’s Zoe Mazur were honorable mentions.

The SMAA All-Rookie team included Deering’s Alli Donovan, McAuley’s Zoe Mazur and Catherine Reid and Portland’s Abby Krieckhaus.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Emily Duff, Allison Scott and Colleen Slattery, Deering’s Katy Cyr, Emily Krabbe, Anna Thach, Kayla Thoits and Mia Thurston, McAuley’s Jordyn Carr, Megan French and Liz Poulin and Portland’s Annika Chim, Merritt Ryan and Isabel Stehli.

Cheverus’ Emily Duff, McAuley’s Jordyn Carr, Portland’s Merritt Ryan and Waynflete’s Christian Rowe took part in the Senior All-Star Game. 

Waynflete’s Cathie Connors served as a coach in the Senior All-Star Game.

Outdoor track

The SMAA outdoor track boys’ All-Conference team included Deering’s Ezra Chapola (long jump, triple jump and 400 and 1,600 relays), Paolo DeMarco (200, 110 hurdles, 300 hurdles and 400 and 1,600 relays), Abdi Hassan (800 run and 1,600 relay), Songha Loth (400 relay), Gabe Luka (1,600 relay) and Jabari Washington (100 dash and 400 relay)

The SMAA girls’ All-Conference team included Cheverus’ Hannah Abbott (shot put and 400 relay), Katelyn Gendron (400 and 1,600 relays), Emily Grinnell (discus and javelin), Sophia Pompeo (1,600 relay), Emily Turner (100, 200, 400 and the 400 and 1,600 relays) and Emma White (long jump, triple jump and 400 and 1,600 relays), Deering’s Elizabeth Erbe (3,200 relay), Annah Rossvall (300 hurdles), Grace Tumavicus (3,200 relay), Lucy Tumavicus (3,200 relay) and Nicole Whipkey (3,200 relay) and McAuley’s Sophia Krieckhaus (shot put).

In the WMC, Waynflete’s Emily Tabb qualified for the first team in the racewalk.


Waynflete’s boys’ tennis team won its ninth successive Class C state title last month and Brandon Ameglio and Jacob Greene were named to the WMC first team.

Waynflete’s Peter Michalakes made the second team.

In the SMAA, Deering’s Conor Doane made the singles first team.

Portland’s Quinn Clarke and Peter Gribizis were named to the singles second team.

The doubles first team included Portland’s Henry Gates and Dan Meacher.

Portland’s Ian McCallum and Sam Mermin made the doubles second team.

On the girls’ side, Waynflete’s Lexi Epstein made the WMC singles second team and Sidara Cash-Sortwell and Molly McNutt were named to the doubles all-star team.

Waynflete’s Izzy Davis qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

The SMAA singles second team included Deering’s Maddie Abbott.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ Caroline Baker, Taylor Champlin, Kenny Drelich, Kendall Jackson, Hope Manning and Alyssa Smith, Deering’s Maddy Abbott, Marshall Abbott, Isaac Finberg, Victor Gravis, Greg Levinsky, Priscilla Maccario, Will Weeks and Kerry Wells and Portland’s Elizabeth Block, Bobby Brittingham, Oliver Brochu, Liwen Chen, Maggie Denekas, Ben Feedman, Kaylyn Madore, Johny Phan and Robyn Ritchie.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Deering’s Dom Bernard was a first-team SMAA baseball all-star.

Portland softball pitcher Jess Brown was an SMAA honorable mention.

Cheverus’ Frank Curran was named to the SMAA boys’ lacrosse all-star team.

McAuley’s Zoe Mazur made the SMAA girls’ lacrosse All-Rookie team.

Waynflete’s Jacob Greene made the WMC boys’ tennis all-star team.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.