Incumbents hold Scarborough School Board seats

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

SCARBOROUGH — Incumbents Christine Massengill and Kelly Noonan Murphy were re-elected to the School Board Nov. 4 with 5,635 votes and 6,921 votes, respectively.

The two were unopposed until declared write-in candidate Michael Turek joined the race in early October. Turek received 1,284 votes, according to unofficial results. 

Massengill and Murphy have both served on the Board since 2011, and served together on the Wentworth Building Committee prior to that.

Massengill currently serves on the finance, long range facilities planning, and negotiations committees, and as a vocational and Wentworth steering liaison.

Murphy is chairwoman of the policy committee, and a member of the negotiations committee, the Outreach and Communication Task Team, and a liaison for Wentworth Steering and the Health, Safety and Security Advisory Team. 

Turek, a retired military aircraft technician and one of the founders of Scarborough Citizens for Sensible Taxes, said before the election that he was running to show board members that there is opposition to their decision-making.

The Scarborough resident of 20 years said the board should be transparent and inclusive, but that he believes it is just the opposite. Public comment during meetings is limited, he said, budgets are unclear and not itemized, and the senior citizen liaison spot on the board is empty.

Growing school budgets are driving up taxes, Turek said, making it harder for senior citizens to afford to live in the town. 

Lily O’Gara can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 106 or Follow her on Twitter: @lilyog28.

Sidebar Elements