Here's to the winter all-stars

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

(Ed. Note: Basketball all-stars were recapped in last week’s paper)

All-star performances were the norm across the winter sports spectrum this year.

In boys’ hockey, Falmouth sophomore forward Ben Freeman and junior defenseman Jack Pike were named to the Class A second team. Pike also qualified for the All-Academic team. Alden Weller was an honorable mention.

In Western Class B, Greely junior defenseman Kyle Megathlin and Yarmouth senior forward Alex Kurtz were named to the first team.

Greely freshman Mitchel Donovan and Yarmouth senior forward Eamon Costello and sophomore defenseman Max Watson were second team selections.

Greely junior defenseman Tim Storey and Yarmouth senior forward Marshall Brunelle were third teamers.

Honorable mentions included Greely senior forward Pete Stauber, junior forward Kenny Richards and sophomore forward Ted Hart and Yarmouth junior goalie Red DeSmith.

Greely’s Donovan, freshman forward Reid Howland and freshman goalie Kyle Kramlich were named to the All-Rookie team.

Yarmouth’s Kurtz was named the Forward of the Year and was given the Evans Spear Award as the Most Outstanding Player.

Greely’s Barry Mothes was named Coach of the Year after leading the Rangers to the Class B state title.

Class B Senior All-Stars included Greely’s Ben Hackett, Drew Hackett, Jordan Tarbox and Stauber and Yarmouth’s Max Grimm, Brunelle, Costello, Gallagher and Kurtz.

Greely’s Mothes and Yarmouth’s Dave St. Pierre served as coaches.

On the girls’ side, in the West Region, Falmouth junior forward Abby Payson and senior defenders Monica Aaskov and Megan Fortier made the first team.

The second team included Falmouth sophomore goalie Kirsten Mazur, sophomore forward Lucy Meyer and sophomore defender Alyse Bazinet.

Falmouth junior Gabby St. Angel was an honorable mention.

In the East, state champion Greely placed goalie Emma Seymour, forward Paige Tuller and defender Mary Morrison on the first team, along with forward Ariel Potter and defender Suzanne Driscoll of Yarmouth/Freeport.

Greely forwards Meg Finlay and Sarah Kurland and defender Chelsea Andrews and Yarmouth/Freeport forwards Emily Johnson and Michelle Robichaud and goalie Hannah Williams were second teamers.

Greely’s CeCi Hodgkins and Etta Copenhagen and Yarmouth/Freeport’s Caelainn Costello and Meredith McLoon were honorable mentions.

The boys’ Western Maine Conference indoor track first team included Falmouth’s Jacob Buhelt (200) and Reid Pryzant (55 hurdles and long jump), Greely’s Liam Campbell (800 and mile), NYA’s Cam Rayder (shot put) and Yarmouth’s Ben Decker (two-mile).

Freeport’s Harrison Stivers (400), Greely’s Mike Leeman (55), Nestor Taylor (800), Stefan Sandreuter (mile) and James Ferrar (shot put) and Yarmouth’s Thomas Robichaud (pole vault) made the second team.

On the girls’ side, the WMC first team featured Greely’s Jessica Wilson (800), Kirstin Sandreuter (mile and two-mile), Abby Bonnevie (pole vault) and Catherine Fellows (shot put).

Falmouth’s Madeline Roberts (mile and two-mile) and Greely’s Julia Mitiguy (400), Audrey Parolin (55 hurdles), Sarah Ingraham (long jump), Kaley Sawyer (triple jump), Kelsey Saunders (high jump) and Cassidy Storey (shot put) qualified for the second team.

The boys’ swimming all-conference first team included Falmouth’s Jake Perron (500 freestyle) and Greely’s Jonathan Dunnett (200 medley relay), Dan Spencer (200 free relay and 400 free relay) and Evan Campbell (400 free relay).

The second team included Falmouth’s Shaun Lamoureux (200 free and 400 free relay) and Ryan Conley (diving) and Greely’s Dunnett (200 individual medley, 100 butterfly and 400 free relay) and Spencer (100 free).

Greely’s Campbell (100 free and 100 backstroke) and Spencer (50 free) made the third team.

The girls’ first team featured Falmouth’s Nicola Mancini (diving) and Greely’s Sarah Easterling (200 medley relay, 100 backstroke and 200 IM), Sara Schad (50 free, 100 free, 200 free relay and 400 free relay).

Greely’s Katie Whittum (400 free relay) made the second team.

Yarmuth’s Abigail Belisle-Haley (200 IM) qualified for the third team.

On the slopes, the WMC boys’ all-star team included Falmouth’s Alex Gowen, Joe Lesniak and Ben Hilfrank, Freeport’s Ryder Bennett and Blake Enrico and Yarmouth’s Drew Grout and Matt Highland.

On the girls’ side, Falmouth’s Leika Scott, Freeport’s Elly Bengtsson, Taylor Enrico and Sarah Pier, Greely’s Elyse Dinan, Teal Otley, Jill Booth, Jordan Ouellette and Kirstin Dugas and Yarmouth’s Claudia Lockwood qualified for the all-star team.

The WMC Nordic skiing boys’ all-conference team featured Falmouth’s Jay Lesser, Jamie McCatherin and Tim Follo, NYA’s Cam Regan, Ian Moore and Evan Kendall and Yarmouth’s Jack Elder and Tom Sullivan.

On the girls’ side, the all-conference team included Falmouth’s Catherine Hebson, Merriconeag’s Zoe Chace-Donahue, Emelie Chace-Donahue and Samantha Pierce and Yarmouth’s Tara Humphries, Caitlin Crawford, Sarah Becker, Ellie Teare and Ihilia Lesnikova.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Falmouth senior Megan Fortier was the state’s most explosive girls’ hockey player and was honored after the season.

Freeport’s Harrison Stivers was an WMC indoor track all-star.

Greely’s Abby Bonnevie set the bar and soared over it this winter and made the WMC all-star team.

NYA’s Cam Regan was one of the best Nordic skiers and made the all-star team.

Yarmouth’s Alex Kurtz made the boys’ Class B hockey all-star team.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.