Greely Rangers Winter Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

2011-12 Winter Male Athlete of the Year:

DAN SPENCER, Senior-Swimming


* Class B state champion, 50 freestyle

* Class B state champion, 100 freestyle

* Class B state champion, medley relay

* Class B state champion, 400 freestyle relay

* Southern Maine Swim League all-star, first-team, 200 freestyle relay

* SMSL all-star, first-team, 400 free relay

* SMSL all-star, second-team, 100 free

* SMSL all-star, third-team, 50 free

Spencer had a pretty amazing junior season, but managed to raise the bar even higher this winter, ensuring there was plenty of gold to go around for himself and his teammates.

Spencer, who came to Cumberland in the sixth grade, which is when he started swimming competitively, was sixth in Class B in the 100 freestyle and ninth in the 200 free as a freshman, won the 100 free and was third in the 200 free as a sophomore and won the 100 free and placed second in the 200 free as a junior, after which he was named Winter Athlete of the Year.

This season, Spencer was even better, At Southwesterns, where Greely came in first, Spencer was part of a championship medley relay squad and was runner-up in both the 50 free and the 100 butterfly, but that was a mere warmup for the state meet. There, Spencer captured both the 50 and 100 free and the Rangers won another team championship.

The fun continued at New Englands, where Spencer won the 50 free and helped the medley relay team to a first-place finish. His undefeated run in the 100 free finally came to an end, but he still managed to come in second.

Spencer also sings in the Madrigal choir, is involved in drama, is a senior class officer, likes to bike and runs triathlons in the summer. Spencer plans to attend Wheaton College, where he’ll swim and likely enjoy several more rounds of triumph.

The Greely swim program has been exceptional over the years. Spencer has been one of the best to come through, which is quite a statement.

Coach Rob Hale’s comment: “Whether you ask me or his teammates, the words you hear to describe Dan are intense, all business, hates to lose, works hard. Dan has very high expectations for himself and he has the very same expectations for his teammates. He lives by the old adage, ‘If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right.’ He does not go through the motions. In fact, there were times in practice I had to tell him to swim slow. While he was hard on his teammates, he also took pride in their success. He raised the bar for all of us.”

2010-11 winner: Dan Spencer (Swimming)

2009-10 winner: Mark McCauley (Indoor track)

2008-09 winner: Kevin Hart (Hockey)

2007-08 winner: Nathan Mecray (Swimming)

2006-07 winner: Nathan Mecray (Swimming)

2005-06 winner: Drew Bowden (Hockey)

2004-05 winner: Ben Knowles (Skiing)

2003-04 winner: Kerry Burke (Indoor track)

2002-03 winner: John Loren (Indoor track)

2001-02 winner: Tim Apuzzo (Basketball)

2011-12 Winter Female Athlete of the Year:

EMMA SEYMOUR, Senior-Hockey


* East Region all-star, first-team

* Captain

Seymour was a sea of calm for a team which endured a roller coaster ride of injuries and tough defeats before putting it all together to end up champions.

Seymour, who’s lived in Cumberland since the second grade, played golf for three years before coming to field hockey this past fall and excelling in goal despite having no experience. Seymour started placing ice hockey as a freshman and became a goalie as a sophomore. She also plays for Casco Bay Hockey. As a senior, she had no peer.

Seymour’s numbers were staggering. She played in every minute of every game, never allowing more than four goals in a contest. She started the year with four straight shutout efforts, wound up with a 16-5 record, which included seven shutouts and six other games where just one goal was allowed. Her goals against average was a miniscule 1.52 and she saved 92 percent of the shots she faced.

While Greely was trying to bounce back from a late season slump and injuries to some key contributors, Seymour (who partly credits juggling and the superstition of putting her right pad and skate on first for her success) put the team on her back in the playoffs, pitching her final shutout while stopping 21 shots against Edward Little/Leavitt in the semifinals, holding top-ranked Brunswick to just two goals while saving 22 shots in the regional final, then capping her memorable campaign with 28 saves in the Rangers’ 7-1 romp over rival Falmouth in the state final.

Seymour, who also plays second base and shortstop for the softball team, is much more than just an accomplished athlete. She’s the president of her church youth group, mentors younger girls and has volunteered over 350 hours of community service for six years running. She’ll attend Brigham Young University in Utah, where she’s already been given a leadership scholarship.

Seymour was one of a kind and her effort, energy and leadership led the Rangers to greatness.

Coach Nate Guerin’s comment: “I can’t say enough about how much Emma did for the team. The fact she didn’t a minute for us all season speaks to her level of commitment and focus. She’s very motivated and loves to compete. She bailed us out more than once. Having that level of consistency back there makes my job a little simpler. I thank her for that. More importantly, she loves to play for her teammates and they know that.”

2010-11 winner: Sarah Easterling (Swimming)

2009-10 winner: Sarah Easterling (Swimming)

2008-09 winner: Sara Schad (Swimming)

2007-08 winner: Becky O’Brien (Indoor track)

2006-07 winner: Dani Cyr (Hockey)

2005-06 winner: Becky O’Brien (Indoor track)

2004-05 winner: Rebecca Furey (Indoor track)

2003-04 winner: Steph Ginn (Basketball)

2002-03 winner: Abby Chapman (Indoor track)

2001-02 winner: Mandy Bowden (Skiing)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.