Freeport Falcons Spring Athletes of the Year

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

(Ed. Note: This story will appear in the July 12 northern print edition)

Male Athlete of the Year:

SAWYER WILLIAMS, Senior-Baseball


* WMC All-Conference, first-team

Williams and six of his senior teammates suffered through three years of tough losses, but this spring was one of redemption.

Williams’ leadership, poise on the mound and ability to come up with the big hit set him apart.

Williams grew up in Freeport and started playing T-ball at age five. He began pitching in Little League. Williams played four years of varsity baseball at Freeport. He also played three years of soccer and sprinted in indoor track.

This spring, Williams and his teammates had many highlights. Williams beat Yarmouth, a longtime Freeport nemesis, on two occasions, combining with Josh Weirich for a five-inning no-hitter in the opener, then blanking the Clippers, 5-0, at Yarmouth, on a seven-hitter. He also beat Cape Elizabeth (on a five-hitter) and Wells (in relief) and earned a save versus Old Orchard Beach. His lone loss came in a solid effort versus Greely (a 4-2 loss despite only allowing one earned run on six hits in six innings). He also was in line to earn a win versus eventual Class B champion Falmouth, before the Yachtsmen rallied to win in extra innings.

In all, Williams went 4-1 during the regular season with a 1.67 earned run average. He also batted .333.

“I’m an underdog,” said Williams. “That’s what drives me. I like to show what I can do. We had a very good season.”

Freeport enjoyed its most victories (10) since 2003 and made the playoffs for the first time since 2004. Williams got the ball for a preliminary round contest versus Cape Elizabeth, but took the loss, 4-0.

Williams did get a well deserved mention on the Western Maine Conference all-star first-team.

Williams also served as a mentor of other students at Freeport High. He’ll attend Plymouth State (N.H.) next year. He plans to try out for the baseball team and has an interest in economics and political science. He may minor in sports management and expresses an interest in coaching some day.

Williams showed that hard work and desire pay great dividends. He had the senior season he so richly deserved.

Coach Hank Ogilby’s comment: “Sawyer was a huge contributor in many ways this year. I was unsure how we would be able to fill the number of innings that Spencer Egan pitched for us last year. While Sawyer had some quality innings in his junior year, he rarely pitched complete games and he never really faced the best opposition. I knew Sawyer had the velocity and accuracy to succeed, but I was unsure that he had the mound presence/experience to go up against the better competition, or that he had the secondary pitches to keep the better hitters in the conference off balance. Sawyer accepted the challenge. He worked hard at developing his breaking pitches and as the season went on, he developed a great calm and rhythm on the mound. Sawyer has always been great to coach. He is one of the most polite and considerate young men I’ve ever had, and he is always open to learning and whatever I may suggest. He has a great drive to succeed and has worked hard at whatever tasks we have set out for him. I expected Sawyer to pitch well this season, but quite honestly, he far exceeded my expectations. He did most of this on his own. He really accepted and owned the responsibility to be the ace of the staff. He wanted that role and was dedicated to giving us a chance to win in all of our most challenging games. Sawyer deserves a ton of credit for the success we had.”

2011 winner: Hans Pope (Lacrosse)

2010 winner: Hans Pope (Lacrosse)

2009 winner: Greg Ordway (Lacrosse)

2008 winner: Parker Chipman (Track)

2007 winner: Luke Charest (Lacrosse)

2006 winner: Kelso Davis (Lacrosse)

2005 winner: Tim Gray (Lacrosse)

2004 winner: Kelso Davis (Lacrosse)

2003 winner: Tyler Allen (Baseball)

2002 winner: Ben Grant (Baseball)

Female Athlete of the Year:

ALEXANDRA MITCH, Senior-Lacrosse


* WMC All-Conference, second-team

* Senior All-Star

The Freeport girls’ lacrosse team reached the state final for the first time this spring and Mitch played a huge role in the Falcons’ success, scoring pivotal goals and setting up many others.

Mitch grew up in Freeport and started playing lacrosse in middle school. She joined the varsity team as a freshman. After the Falcons just missed the playoffs in 2011, they came on with a vengeance this spring and Mitch had several big games.

Mitch opened the season with a three-goal performance versus York. She scored three times against Cape Elizabeth, had six (including the winner with a little over a minute to go) in a stirring 12-11 comeback victory at Greely in a steady rain (she also had nine ground balls in the slop), added three versus Fryeburg, five against Windham, had a clutch tying goal at the end of regulation in a game against York which Freeport went on to win in overtime, and scored three goals in a victory over Wells, which helped the Falcons lock up the top seed in Eastern B.

Freeport dominated Gardiner in the semifinals as Mitch had three goals, then, in arguably the program’s biggest victory ever, Mitch had three goals and one assist as the Falcons rallied to beat defending state champion Yarmouth in the regional final. While Freeport’s fantasy run finally ended with a loss to Waynflete in the Class B state final, Mitch did score once, assisted on three other goals and picked up four ground balls.

“We played together and really connected this year,” said Mitch. “That made it easier. The win at Greely made us believe.”

Mitch was the team’s leading scorer, was named a conference all-star and took part in the Senior All-Star Game, scoring two times in her final game.

“I don’t give up,” Mitch said. “I like competition. I don’t like losing.”

Mitch, who also played soccer and basketball, was a Seeds of Independence mentor at Freeport, helping freshmen, and belonged to Interact Club. She will attend the University of Maine in the fall.

Mitch got to experience many thrills in her final season and she provided more than her share along the way.

Coach Karin Kurry’s comment: “Alexandra has grown and matured so much. She wasn’t a starter as a freshman. Now she’s composed. She’s the one who would get the ball at the end. She’s very focused with great foot speed. She’s a playmaker.”

2011 winner: Leigh Wyman (Softball)

2010 winner: Lucy Whitacre (Lacrosse)

2009 winner: Kristen Poulin (Track)

2008 winner; Andrea Goodrich (Track)

2007 winner: Molly Lincoln (Lacrosse)

2006 winner: Amber Klages (Lacrosse)

2005 winner: Cassandra Dyer (Softball)

2004 winner: Logan Crane (Track)

2003 winner: Molly Charest (Lacrosse)

2002 winner: Kerry Blenk (Softball)

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements



Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.