Freeport elects two new councilors

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FREEPORT — In an election that brought out about 53 percent of the town’s registered voters, residents Tuesday elected two new faces to the Town Council in District 2 and District 3.

The District 2 seat was won by newcomer Katherine Arno of Pleasant Hill Road. Unofficial results show she won the race against incumbent Councilor Eric Pandora of Birch Point Road 497 to 340.

In District 3, newcomer Kristina Egan of Weston Point beat incumbent Councilor Joe Migliaccio of Vin Mar Lane 494 to 381.

Incumbent at-large Councilor Rich DeGrandpre of Timber Ridge Road was re-elected to his seat against newcomer Marie Gunning of Telos Road. DeGrandpre won by about 206 votes, or 1,585 – 1,391.

Of Freeport’s nearly 6,000 registered voters, about 3,200 came to the polls.

Regional School Unit 5 

Incumbents Nelson Larkins of Shore Drive and Beth Parker of Spar Cove Road have been re-elected to their seats on the RSU 5 Board of Directors. Newcomer Gurdarshan Gill of Palmer Point Road did not win a seat on the board.

Parker won with 1,842 votes; Larkins had 1,351 and Gill had 1,196 votes.

Sewer and Water districts

In an uncontested race for two seats on the Sewer District Board of Trustees and one seat on the Water District Board of Trustees, three incumbents have been re-elected.

Incumbents Mike Ashby of Cove Road and Timothy P. Whitacre of Sandy Beach Drive ran uncontested races for three year seats on the Sewer board.

Ashby received 2,026 votes and Whitacre received 1,961 votes.

Incumbent Edmond Theriault of Litchfield Road won the uncontested race for a seat on the Water District and received 1,978 votes.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow her on Twitter: @amy_k_anderson.