Fall sports season produced all-stars in abundance-Southern edition

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Cape Elizabeth’s Connor Thoreck made the boys’ soccer all-conference and all-region teams this fall.

Scarborough’s Lily Nygren was a field hockey all-state selection.

South Portland’s Thaovy Duong qualified for the SMAA girls’ cross country team.

(Ed. Note: At press time, all-state teams for soccer and volleyball weren’t available. Those will be published at a later date)

A season of triumph on the gridiron, pitch, fields, trails, courts and courses of southern Maine resulted in many all-star mentions for local standouts.

Here’s a wrap-up:


Cape Elizabeth’s football team got to the Class C South Final and placed eight members on the Campbell Conference all-star team. Quarterback Jeb Boeschenstein, running backs Brett McAlister and Peyton Weatherbie, wide receiver Ben Ekedahl, defensive end Jacob Jordan, linebackers Ryan Weare and Max Woods and free safety Camden Turner were all honored.

Scarborough and South Portland both had a presence on the Class A South all-star team.

The first-team offense included Scarborough running back Owen Garrard, wide receiver Reece Lagerquist, linemen Dakota Joy and Anthony Griffin and placekicker Emmett Peoples. 

South Portland wide receiver Finn Zechman was named to the second-team.

On defense, Scarborough linebacker Aren Dickman and back Cody Dudley, along with South Portland back Finn Zechman, made the first-team.

Scarborough end Owen Garrard and tackle Dakota Joy were named to the second-team.

South Portland’s Jason Cooke was named the top assistant coach.

Scarborough’s Tim Carion qualified for the Class A South All-Academic team.

Boys’ soccer

There was plenty of success for local soccer teams this season and that was reflected by the Southwestern Maine Activities Association and Western Maine Conference all-star teams.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Quinn Hewitt, Nicolai Sabbatini and Connor Thoreck all mde the Class A/B boys’ squad.

In the SMAA, the boys’ first-team included Scarborough forward Noah Stracqualursi, midfielder Garrett King and back Spencer Pettingill and South Portland goalkeeper Riley Hasson.

Scarborough back Alex Giles and South Portland forward Charlie Cronin, midfielder Khalid Suja and back Patrick Graff made the second-team.

Scarborough goalkeeper Chris Franklin was an honorable mention.

Scarborough’s Eric Murray and South Portland’s Anthony Salafia qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Scarborough’s King and Stracqualursi and South Portland’s Hasson and Suja were named to the Class A South all-region team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Hewitt and Thoreck earned a spot on the Class B South all-region team.

Jeremiah Hammond and Ethan Spaulding of Greater Portland Christian School were named to the Class D South all-region team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Hewitt and Thoreck, Scarborough’s Stracqualursi and South Portland’s Suja represented the South in the Senior Bowl. The South prevailed, 9-5, as Stracqualursi had a pair of assists.

Girls’ soccer

The SMAA girls’ soccer first-team included Scarborough forward Gaby Panagakos.

Scarborough midfielder Lauren Sabatino, defenders Sophia Martens and Ellie Patten and goalkeeper Emily Royce and South Portland midfielder Juliana Selser were named to the second-team.

Scarborough forward Ashley Perriello and midfielder Leah Dickman were honorable mentions.

Scarborough’s Panagakos was named the SMAA Offensive Player of the Year.

Scarborough’s Erin Ryan and South Portland’s Zoe Brown, Emma Jones, Amber McKenzie, Callie O’Brien and Sophia Romano all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Mariah Deschino, Grace Gillian and Catherine Morrissey all made the all-star team. 

Scarborough’s Panagakos and Perriello made the Class A South all-region team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Deschino was named to the Class B South all-region team.

Courtney Spaulding of GPCS made the Class D South all-region team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Deschino and Scarborough’s Perriello helped the South to a 2-1 win in the Senior Bowl.

Field hockey

The SMAA field hockey first-team included Scarborough’s Kristen Levesque and Lily Nygren and South Portland’s Lydia Henderson.

Scarborough’s Victoria Timm and South Portland’s Sophia Cummings were named to the second-team.

Scarborough’s Ashley Levesque and South Portland’s Jessica Angelova were honorable mentions.

Scarborough’s Rachel Paradis and South Portland’s Madelynn Drolet were named to the SMAA All-Rookie team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Taylor Young made the Division I second-team.

Scarborough’s Kristen Levesque and Lily Nygren and South Portland’s Lydia Henderson were named to the Maine Field Hockey Association All-State team.


Scarborough had another solid volleyball season, reaching the Class A state final, and the Red Storm placed four players on the SMAA first-team. Libero Emma Budway, middle hitter Jordyn Cowan, outside hitter Kacey Foerster and setter Elizabeth Young were selected.

Scarborough setter Libby Chadbourne and South Portland outside hitter Molly Mawhinney made the second-team.

Scarborough outside hitter Jillian Harvie and South Portland middle hitter Kaleisha Towle were honorable mentions.

Scarborough’s Budway, Cowan and Young qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Scarborough’s Jon Roberts earned SMAA Coach of the Year honors.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Maggie Dadmun was a second-team selection.

Cross country

There was, as usual, plenty of triumph on the trails this fall.

In the SMAA, Scarborough’s Connor Coffin and Shamus Malia and South Portland’s Xander Keiter made the boys’ first-team.

Scarborough’s Andrew Goodwin and South Portland’s Steven Smith were honorable mentions.

Scarborough’s Malia and South Portland’s Keiter and Bradley Mileson qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Jack Bassett made the second-team.

Scarborough’s Coffin and Malia were named to the Maine Track and Cross County Coaches’ Association All-State team.

On the girls’ side, in the SMAA, Scarborough’s Bethany Sholl made the first-team.

South Portland’s Thaovy Duong was an honorable mention selection.

Scarborough’s Marisa Carbone and South Portland’s Abby Donahue, Duong, Serena McKenzie and Abby Richardson qualified for the All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Kelsey Kennedy made the first-team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Emma Shedd, Camilla Grosso and Liv Palma were second-teamers.

Scarborough’s Sholl qualified for the All-State team.


Cape Elizabeth’s Austin Legge, Max Altznauer and Lauren Shonewolf all made the WMC golf all-conference team, as the Capers won the conference title in Class B. Legge shared Co-Player of the Year honors with Fryeburg Academy’s Tyler Worcester.

In the SMAA, Scarborough’s Anthony Burnham made the Northern Division first-team.

Scarborough’s Ethan Mason made the second-team.

Scarborough’s Elizabeth Lacognata was named to the girls’ all-star team.

South Portland’s Timothy Small qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.