Fall all-stars made their mark-Northern edition

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

Falmouth’s volleyball team got to the Class B state final this fall and Katie Phillips was one of the Yachtsmen’s standouts named to the SMAA all-star team.

File photos.

More photos below.

With so much success in so many sports this fall, it’s no surprise to learn that local athletes had quite a presence on postseason all-star teams.

Here’s a recap:


The Campbell Conference Class B football all-star team included Falmouth’s Garret Aube, Griffin Aube, Noah Barney and Jack Bryant and Greely’s Nolan Anderson, Joey Casella and Tim Coyle.

The Class C all-star team featured Freeport’s Josh Burke and Garrison Thompson and Yarmouth’s Noah Eckersley-Ray, Hunter Harrington and Jack True.

Falmouth’s Garret Aube, Noah Barney, Will Bopp, Jack Bryant and Emilio Micucci, along with Greely’s Tim Coyle and Yarmouth’s Henry Venden, qualified for the Campbell Conference All-Academic team.

Falmouth’s Jack Bryant was named the Campbell Conference Player of the Year.

Boys’ soccer

After winning a fourth consecutive Class B state championship, Yarmouth’s boys’ soccer team placed seniors Luke Groothoff and Cal Owen and junior Eric LaBrie on the Western Maine Conference Class B all-star team. They were joined by Freeport senior Evan McKittrick and sophomore Jesse Bennell and Greely seniors Quinn Molloy and Hazael Tshituka.

The Class C/D all-star team included North Yarmouth Academy juniors Ryan Baker and Xander Kostelnik.

In the Southwestern Maine Activities Association, Falmouth senior forward Nate Arrants and senior midfielder Ben Wuesthoff made the All-Conference first-team.

The second-team included Falmouth sophomore forward Tom Fitzgerald, junior midfielder Nik Hester, senior back Sam Winkeler and freshman goalkeeper Alvaro Fuentes-Cantallina.

Falmouth senior back Eli Freidman was an honorable mention.

Falmouth’s Nate Arrants, Eli Friedman, Brendan Myers, Ghalib Omar, Graham Whiting and Ben Wueshoff all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Falmouth’s Nate Arrants, Sam Winkeler and Ben Wuesthoff were named to the Class A South regional all-star team.

Greely’s Quinn Molloy, Hazael Tshituka and Evan Goettel and Yarmouth’s Luke Groothoff and Eric LaBrie were named to the Class B South regional squad.

Girls’ soccer

On the girls’ side, Yarmouth’s girls went undefeated and repeated as Class B champions and the Clippers placed seniors Hannah Corey, Sara D’Appolonia and Sophia Harpool and junior Olivia Feeley on the WMC Class B all-star team. They were joined by Freeport’s Becca Cameron, Catriona Gould and Carly Intraversato and Greely’s Katherine Clancy, Anna DeWolfe and Courtney Sullivan.

In Class C/D, NYA’s Natalie Farrell and Aisley Snell made the all-star team.

In the SMAA, Falmouth senior forward Amelia Waite was an All-Conference honorable mention.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Falmouth’s Kathryn Caldwell and Alyssa Drum.

Falmouth’s Kathryn Caldwell was named SMAA Student-Athlete of the Year.

Falmouth’s Amelia Waite was selected to the Class A South regional all-star team.

Yarmouth’s Hannah Corey, Sara D’Appolonia and Olivia Feeley were named to the Class B South regional squad.

NYA’s Aisley Snell was named to the Class D South regional team.

Field hockey

Freeport junior Alexa Koenig, Greely seniors Sydney Meredith-Pickett and Ella Novick and Yarmouth seniors Emilie Martin and Sophie McGrath were all named to the WMC field hockey All-Conference Class B first-team.

Freeport senior Grace Schnyder, Greely senior Isabelle Bachelder and Yarmouth junior Catye Tillotson all made the WMC Class B second-team.

NYA junior Amber Rose and sophomore Eliza Tod were named to the WMC Class C first-team.

NYA sophomores Maya Davis and Katie Larson made the WMC Class C second-team.

Freeport’s Maya Bradbury, Lauren Schenker, Grace Schnyder and Callie Toothaker, Greely’s Isabelle Bachelder, Sydney Meredith-Pickett and Sydney Smart and Yarmouth’s Eliza Brown, Maggie Gunville, Emilie Martin, Sophie McGrath, Cate Ralph and Anna Wiebus qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

In the SMAA, Falmouth junior Liberty Ladd was chosen for the first-team.

Falmouth junior Emma Cohen made the SMAA second-team.

Falmouth junior Caitlyn Bull was an SMAA honorable mention.

Falmouth junior Juliana LaPorta was named her team’s Rookie of the Year.

Falmouth’s Liberty Ladd, Freeport’s Alexa Koenig, Greely’s Sydney Meredith-Pickett, NYA’s Amber Rose and Yarmouth’s Emilie Martin were all selected for the South region All-State team.


Falmouth’s Class B state finalist volleyball team placed Annika Hester and Katie Phillips on the SMAA All-Conference first-team.

The SMAA second-team included Falmouth’s Lydia Abbott and Alison Noyes.

Falmouth’s Alston Armstrong was named an SMAA honorable mention.

In the WMC, Greely’s Coco Petrone and Morgan Selby and Yarmouth’s Kaitlyn Bennett and Marie LeBlanc made the first-team.

Greelys Sara Agren and Claire Davis, NYA’s Jordan Ackerman and Tessa Quattrucci and Yarmouth’s Dominique Moran were named to the WMC second-team.

WMC honorable mentions included Greely’s Jane Grandchamp and Yarmouth’s Skyler Bennett.

Cross country

Class A champion Falmouth placed seniors Alex Kinley and Conner Piers and junior John Auer on the SMAA boys’ cross country All-Conference first-team.

Falmouth seniors Charlie Henning and Jared Troubh qualified for the SMAA second-team.

Falmouth’s Charlie Henning, Alex Kinley and Jared Troubh all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Falmouth won the league championship and coaches Jorma Kurry and Danny Paul were named the league’s Co-Coaches of the Year.

The WMC, Freeport’s Martin Horne and Alex Les, Greely’s Nicolas Giandrea and Maine Coast Waldorf’s Nick Neveu qualified for the first-team.

Second-teamers included Freeport’s Heath Cockburn and Thomas Doyle, Greely’s Andrew Storey and MCW’s Finn Dierks-Brown.

Freeport won the Division One team title.

Greely’s Alexander Gerencer and Trevor Rafford, NYA’s Rick Hilscher, Jack Sillin and Leo Webster and Yarmouth’s Kyle Bennett, Luke Laverdeiere, Keiran Lorentzen, Sean Moore and Sammy Potter all qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.

On the girls’ side, the SMAA first-team included Falmouth junior Malaika Pasch and freshmen Sofie Matson and Karley Piers.

Falmouth’s Clara Geci, Maria Kuhn, Grace Lee, Heidi Meyers, Candice Powers, Chelsey Smithwick and Jessica Troubh all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

Falmouth’s Sofie Matson was named SMAA Runner of the Year.

In the WMC, Freeport’s Lily Horne, MCW’s Olivia Reynolds and Olivia Skillings and Yarmouth’s Greta Elder and Anneka Murrin all qualified for the first-team.

MCW won the Division Two team title.

Freeport’s Grace Cushman and Hannah Skorapa, NYA’s Charlotte Collins and Yarmouth’s Eliza Crowley, Greta Elder, Sophie Laukli, Anneka Murrin and Olivia Robichaud all qualified for the WMC All-Academic team.


After another strong year on the links, Falmouth’s Riley Lonsdale was named to the SMAA Northern Division golf first-team.

Falmouth’s Matt Adamowicz and Tyler Baker earned second-team honors.

Greely’s Rachel Smith was named to the girls’ all-star first-team.

Falmouth’s qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

The WMC all-star team included Freeport’s Ethan Sclar and TJ Whelan and Yarmouth’s Ethan Haag and Mac Leahy.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Freeport’s Evan McKittrick was named to the WMC boys’ soccer Class B all-star team.

Yarmouth’s Anneka Murrin didn’t just help the Clippers win the Class B state title, she was also named to the WMC girls’ cross country all-star team.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.