Election Day in Portland: What you need to know

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 1

PORTLAND — City voters on Nov. 8 will cast ballots in national, state and municipal elections, and for six statewide referendum questions.

In municipal elections, both races for City Council are contested. The at-large seat now held by Councilor Jon Hinck will appear on all city ballots. Hinck is being challenged by School Board member Pious Ali and Matthew Coffey.

In District 3, incumbent Councilor Ed Suslovic is being challenged by Brian Batson. The district covers the southern and western portions of the peninsula.

There are three School Board races, but only the District 3 election between incumbent Laurie Davis and Bill Linnell is contested. Running for the two at-large seats are incumbent Anna Treverrow and Roberto Rodriguez.

Council and School Board seats carry three-year terms.

On Peaks Island, a seat carrying a two-year term on the advisory Island Council is being contested by Howard Pedliken, Alexander D. Stankowicz and John Drumgoole.

The three Peaks Island Council seats with three-year terms are uncontested with Stuart Jackson, Lisa Penalver and Patrick Flynn running.

The Peaks Island ballots will also feature a race between Twain Braden and Cheryl Miner for a three-year seat on the Casco Bay Lines Board of Directors. Island resident Charles Burr is unopposed in his run for the at-large seat with a three-year CBL term. On Cliff Island, David Crowley is unopposed in his bid for a three-year term.

The seat for a five-year term as Portland Water District trustee is being sought by James A. Willey.

Candidates in municipal elections do not run with party affiliations.

There are eight races for two-year terms in the Maine House of Representatives. In House Districts 36 and 37, Democratic incumbent Reps. Denise Harlow and Richard Farnsworth are unopposed.

House District 38 pits incumbent Democratic Rep. Matthew Moonen against Republican Thomas Loring. In House District 39, Republican Peter Doyle and Democrat Mike Sylvester are running for the open seat.

Democrat Rachel Talbot Ross and Republican Carol Taylor are seeking the open House District 40 seat. In House District 41, incumbent Democratic Rep. Erik Jorgensen faces a challenge from Republican Dr. James Azzola.

The House District 42 and 43 races are for open seats. In House District 42, Democrat Benjamin Collings and Republican Susan Abercrombie are running. Opposing each other in House District 43 are Republican Jeffrey Langholtz and Democrat Heather Sanborn.

Both state Senate seats serving Portland are open. In Senate District 27, Democratic Rep. Ben Chipman, now serving House District 40, Republican Adam Pontius and Green Independent Seth Baker are running.

The Senate District 28 race pits Democratic Rep. Mark Dion, now serving House District 43, against Republican Karen Usher.

Absentee ballots are now available in the State of Maine Room on the second floor of City Hall, 389 Congress St. In-person absentee voting hours are 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday until Nov. 3.

On Nov. 3, the last day of absentee voting, hours will 9 a.m.-7 p.m.

On Nov. 8, polls will be open from 7 a.m.-8 p.m.:

• District 1-1: East End Elementary School, 195 North St.

• District 1-2: Merrill Auditorium Rehearsal Hall, 20 Myrtle St.

• District 1-3: Peaks Island Community Hall, Peaks Island.

• District 2-1: Reiche Elementary School, 166 Brackett St.

• District 2-2: Exposition Building, 239 Park Ave.

• District 3-1: Woodfords Club 179, Woodfords St.

• District 3-2: Italian Heritage Center, 40 Westland Ave.

• District 4-1: St. Pius Church 492, Ocean Ave.

• District 4-2: First Baptist Church, 360 Canco Road.

• District 5-1: Deering High School gymnasium, 370 Stevens Ave. (via Leland Street entrance).

• District 5-2: Grace Baptist gymnasium, 476 Summit St.

City and state legislative districts have different boundaries. To view a map of city electoral districts merged with state legislative districts, visit http://bit.ly/2e7ONi3.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or dharry@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Portland City Hall reporter for The Forecaster. Baltimore native, lived in Maine since 1989. A journalist since 2005, covering much of Cumberland and York counties. I joined The Forecaster in 2012.