Council establishes Bath Recognition Committee

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

BATH — While it often receives requests to honor people – living and dead – as well as businesses, groups and other entities, the city didn’t have a way to process those requests and decide which merit recognition.

That is, until Wednesday night.

The council voted during its regular meeting to establish the Bath Recognition Committee in order to consider those who have made a major positive impact on the city through generosity, achievements and other contributions.

Each committee member will serve for an indefinite period of time with the approval of the council chairman, and elected officers and staff terms will depend on their term of office as officials of the city and school system.

The committee membership, also approved Wednesday by the council, is comprised of City Council Chairman Bernie Wyman, city councilors Ruthe Pagurko and Sean Paulhus, City Manager Bill Giroux, Regional School Unit 1 Superintendent William Shuttleworth, and two citizens at large, Elena van der Voort of the Bath Historical Society and Brian Hatch.

Non-committee staff members include Community Relations Coordinator Carolyn Lockwood, Cemeteries, Parks and Recreation Director Steve Balboni, and consultants Robin Haynes and Jay Paulus.

The committee will review any request for recognition presented to the city and make a recommendation for consideration of any proposed recognition to the City Council for final decision.

Alex Lear can be reached at 373-9060 ext. 113 or

A Maine native and Colby College graduate, Alex has been covering coastal communities since 2001, and currently handles Bath, Topsham, Cumberland, and North Yarmouth. He and his wife, Lauren, live in the Portland area, and Alex recently released his third album of original music.