Thu, Jul 30, 2015 ●
BathHarpswellTopshamBrunswickCumberlandNorth YarmouthFalmouthFreeportPortlandCape ElizabethScarboroughSouth PortlandChebeague IslandYarmouth

5 candidates for 3 seats on Falmouth Town Council; 4 seek 2 School Board seats


5 candidates for 3 seats on Falmouth Town Council; 4 seek 2 School Board seats

FALMOUTH — The April 26 deadline to turn in nomination papers for local elections revealed a few surprises and some expected candidates tossing their hats into the ring.

There are three seats up for grabs on the Town Council and two seats available on the School Board, all with three-year terms. Councilors and School Board members are limited to no more than two consecutive terms.

For the Town Council, incumbents Tony Payne and Bonny Rodden are seeking re-election. Payne was first elected in 2007 and serves as vice-chairman of the council, chairman of the Ordinance Committee and is a member of the Finance Committee.

Rodden was first elected in 2007. She serves on the Community Development Committee and is Falmouth's representative to the METRO bus service and ecomaine.

Councilor David Libby, who was elected in 2004, is termed out. Other council candidates are Faith Varney, Barbara DiBiase and David R. Murray.

Varney is chairwoman of the Parks and Community Programs Advisory Committee and sits on the Board of Voter Registration Appeals. She was also a music teacher in Falmouth for 33 years.

DiBiase is the energy and sustainability coordinator on the Green Ribbon Commission, which recently submitted an energy and climate protection plan to the council.

Murray sat on the Planning Board from 1984 to 1990 and also served on the council from 1992 to 1998. During his final year on the council he served as chairman. Murray was also a volunteer firefighter.

Christopher Murry Jr., Audrey Grassman, Marna Miller and David Snow are running for two seats on the School Board. Linda Cote and Mark Terison are not seeking re-election; both have reached their term limits.

Election Day is Tuesday, June 8.

Emily Parkhurst can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 125 or