Sat, Aug 01, 2015 ●
BathHarpswellTopshamBrunswickCumberlandNorth YarmouthFalmouthFreeportPortlandCape ElizabethScarboroughSouth PortlandChebeague IslandYarmouth

Mid-Coast School Notebook: March 31


Mid-Coast School Notebook: March 31

Merrymeeting Audubon
offers camp scholarships

BATH — Merrymeeting Audubon Society, a chapter of Maine Audubon, is holding a scholarship competition for local children to attend a six-day residential environmental education camp in summer 2010.

The scholarships are available for children in grades 3 through 5 to attend Tanglewood 4-H Camp in Lincolnville. Students who will be 10 to 15 years old by August can apply for scholarships to attend the Bryant Pond 4H Camp.

Children from the towns of Bath, Brunswick, and within the area bounded by Wiscasset, Richmond, Lisbon, Durham and Freeport are eligible to apply for full or half-scholarships.

Applicants should submit essays with a completed application form by April 15. Forms are available in area schools, or by calling 729-3343 or 442-8195.

To contribute to the scholarship fund or learn more about the Merrymeeting Audubon Society, please call chapter president, Ted Allen, at 729-8661.

Hauser earns award for
'most improved' student

TOPSHAM — Hannah Hauser, a 10th grade student, was named the "most improved" student at Mt. Ararat High School.

Mt. Ararat High School teamed up with the Portland Sea Dogs and NextGen to recognize students who have shown the most improvement since the beginning of the year. 

Every student that was nominated as a NextGen Most Improved Student will receive a free ticket to a Sea Dogs game this spring and will be honored on the field in a pre-game ceremony.

Other nominees included 9th grade students Caitlin Bailey, Lucas Haferman, Blane Miller, Nick Oppendisano, Ben Proctor, Anna Taglieri, John Gregory Wallace, Caitlin Williams; 10th grade students Chris Bedard, Kellen Bonnar, Robert Cornelison, Shelby Riley, Jennifer Rancourt; 11th grade students Chris Burr, Anthony Fischer, Kristi Snipe; and 12th grade students Alexandra Anagnostis, Mason Dupuis, Ryan Leeman, Chelsea Macdonald-Coffin.

Photo: contributed photo