City had plenty of hoops all-stars

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

The city of Portland had no shortage of basketball all-stars this winter.

Two teams, the Deering boys and McAuley girls, won state championships and players from all local schools were named to Southern Maine Activities Association and Western Maine Conference postseason all-star teams.

The SMAA boys’ first team featured Cheverus senior Louie DiStasio (fifth in the SMAA in scoring with 16.8 points per game and tops in steals, 3.6), Deering senior Jon Amabile (the league’s third-leading scorer, 17.5, who was also second in steals, 2.8) and Portland senior Peter Donato (fourth in the league in rebounding, 8.1 per game). They joined conference MVP Bobby Cote of Biddeford, Bonny Eagle’s Dustin Cole and Cole Libby and Windham’s Nolan Allen, who missed the season with injury, but was named an honorary all-star.

Deering junior Labson Abwoch (third in the conference in rebounds, 9 per game) made the second team. He was joined by Marshwood’s Matthew Crosby and Jack Verrill, South Portland’s Tanner Hyland and Thornton Academy’s Justin Pollard.

Four of the five third team spots were taken by city players. Cheverus senior Cam Olson, Deering senior Patrick Green, Portland senior Mike Herrick and Portland sophomore Justin Zukowki joined Sanford’s Ryan Camire.

Honorable mentions included Cheverus senior James Kapothanasis and Deering junior Thiwat Thiwat.

Cheverus freshman Zordan Holman was named to the All-Rookie team.

The SMAA All-Academic team included Cheverus’ DiStasio, Kapothanasis, Cameron Mullen and Olson, Deering’s Green and Portland’s Barry Quinn.

Cheverus’ DiStasio, Kapothanasis and Shawn Grover, Deering’s Amabile and Green and Portland’s Donato and Herrick made the Senior All-Star team.

Donato had 28 points and Herrick added nine to help the “White” team beat the “Blue,” 128-106 in the all-star contest. Amabile had 16 points and Green five in defeat.

In the Western Maine Conference, senior Mitch Newlin and sophomore Serge Nyirikamba of conference champion Waynflete made the Class C first team.

Flyers juniors Max Belleau, Jack Cutler and Paul Runyambo were second teamers.

Newlin and Chris Burke were named Senior All-Stars and were coached by Waynflete coach Rich Henry. Newlin had 10 points and Burke two in “Team Henry’s” 105-93 victory over Team Halligan.”

Burke and Newlin also qualified for the All-Academic team.

Cheverus’ DiStasio and Deering’s Amabile were named to the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star team and helped the A/B West squad hold off the East, 113-103. Deering’s Dan LeGage joined Poland’s Tyler Tracy on the coaching staff for that game.

Cheverus’ DiStasio was a semifinalist for the Mr. Maine Basketball award, which was ultimately won by Hampden Academy’s Christian McCue.

The SMAA girls’ first team included McAuley senior Alexa Coulombe (who led the lead in blocked shots, 4 per game) and sophomore Allie Clement and Deering senior Ella Ramonas. They were joined by league Player of the Year Meghan Gribbin of Windham and Gorham’s Kristin Ross.

Cheverus senior Alexandra Palazzi-Leahy and McAuley sophomore Olivia Smith made the second team. Marshwood’s Aubrey Folger and Jordan Mitchell and Scarborough’s Maria Philbrick were also honored.

Deering junior Marissa MacMillan was an honorable mention.

McAuley freshman Victoria Lux was named to the All-Rookie team.

Deering’s Ramonas and McAuley’s Clement and Coulombe were All-Defensive team selections.

Cheverus’ Allison Thomas, Deering’s Amber Kennedy, Caley Presby and Ramonas, McAuley’s Sadie DiPierro and Kate Liziewski and Portland’s Samantha Dobson and Angie Reali qualified for the All-Academic team.

Cheverus’ Palazzi-Leahy, Deering’s Ramoans and Emily Cole and McAuley’s Coulombe and DiPierro were Senior All-Stars.

In the all-star game, Ramonas had 13 points and DiPierro nine to lead the “White” team to an 80-62 triumph over the “Blue” squad, which got 16 points from Coulombe.

In the WMC, Waynflete junior Martha Veroneau made the first team. Veroneau led the conference in scoring with 17.9 ppg. Classmates Rhiannan Jackson and Catherine Veroneau were second teamers.

Waynflete’s Hanae Miyake qualified for the All-Academic team.

Cheverus’ Palazzi-Leahy, Deering’s Ramonas and McAuley’s Coulombe made the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star team. Their A/B West squad lost to the East, 95-92.

Coulombe was named Miss Maine Basketball. Ramonas was a semifinalist.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

McAuley sophomore Olivia Smith towered over the opposition this winter and was named to the SMAA all-conference team.

Cheverus senior James Kapothanasis earned all-star mention despite missing part of the season with illness.

Deering senior Ella Ramonas capped her high school career by being named to the SMAA first team and also being named a Miss Maine Basketball semifinalist.

Portland senior Pete Donato made the SMAA all-star team.

Waynflete junior Rhiannan Jackson was named to the Western Maine Conference all-star team.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.