Changes from redistricting to greet Portland voters

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

PORTLAND — With two referendums scheduled in the next two months, City Clerk Katherine Jones has released voting guidelines, including information on recent changes to City Council districts.

The annual referendum on the school budget will be held May 13. A special referendum on the citizen initiative to amend the city land bank ordinance will be June 10.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-10 p.m. both days.

Redistricting based on 2010 census data shifts residents of the following streets to District 3, served by Councilor Ed Suslovic and School Board member Laurie Davis. Residents will vote at Woodfords Congregational Church:

• All of Alden Circle.

• Odd numbered houses on Brighton Avenue, Nos. 41-157 and 727-851.

• All of Dartmouth Street.

• All of Dennett Street.

• All of Donald Street.

• All of Four Winds Road.

• All of Groveside Road.

• All of Harmon Road.

• Even numbered houses on Ludlow Street, Nos. 274 – 344.

• All of Ludlow Terrace.

• Houses on Pitt Street, Nos. 115-142.

• All of Raymond Road.

• All of Sonnet Lane.

• All of Violette Avenue.

• All of Violette Hill.

• All of Wayside Road.

• All of William Street.

• All of Woodfield Road.

Redistricting at the state level has also led to renumbering of city districts in the state House of Representatives and Senate:

• House District 113, now served by Rep. Mark N. Dion, becomes District 36.

• House District 114, now served by Rep. Peter C. Stuckey, becomes District 37.

• House District 115, now served by Rep. Erik C. Jorgensen, becomes District 38.

• House District 116, now served by Rep. Denise P. Harlow, becomes District 39.

• House District 117, now served by Rep. Richard R. Farnsworth, becomes District 40.

• House District 118, now served by Rep. Matthew W. Moonen, becomes District 41.

• House District 119, now served by Rep. Benjamin M. Chipman, becomes District 42.

• House District 120, now served by Rep. Diane Russell, becomes District 43.

• Senate District 8, now served by Sen. Justin Alfond, becomes District 27.

• Senate District 9, now served by Sen. Anne Haskell, becomes District 28.

There are no primary elections for Portland seats in the House or Senate this year, but candidates will be listed on the June 10 ballot in the renumbered districts.

Residents can vote at these polling places:

• District 1-1: East End Community School, 195 North St.

• District 1-2: Merrill Rehearsal Hall, 20 Myrtle St.

• District 1-3: Community Hall, Peaks Island

• District 2-1: Reiche School, 166 Brackett St.

• District 2-2: Exposition Building, 239 Park Ave.

• District 3-1: Woodfords Church, 202 Woodford St.

• District 3-2: Italian Heritage Center, 40 Westland Ave.

• District 4-1: St. Pius Church, 492 Ocean Ave.

• District 4-2: First Baptist Church, 360 Canco Road

• District 5-1: Stevens Avenue Armory, 772 Stevens Ave.

• District 5-2: Grace Baptist Church Gym, 476 Summit St.

Absentee ballots will not be accepted by the City Clerk’s office until May 6, and can be returned through 8 p.m. on May 13 for the school budget referendum, and through June 10 for the citizen initiative question.

For more information on the city elections, call 874-8677 or visit

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow him on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Sidebar Elements

Portland City Hall reporter for The Forecaster. Baltimore native, lived in Maine since 1989. A journalist since 2005, covering much of Cumberland and York counties. I joined The Forecaster in 2012.