Casco Bay islands to elect representatives to ferry board

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

PORTLAND — Island communities on Nov. 8 will elect three people to the Casco Bay Island Transit District Board of Directors.

Two candidates hope to represent Great Diamond Island: Kathleen Hoffner, of Pleasant Cove Lane, and Roger Robinson, of Crescent Avenue.

The Great Diamond Island seat is currently held by Hoffner’s husband, Matthew, who said he is not running in order to devote more time to a small business that he will be soon expanding to South America.

No names will appear on the ballot for Little Diamond Island. But city election administrator Bud Philbrick said incumbent Scott Johnston, of 1 Strawberry Lane in Yarmouth, has declared a write-in candidacy.

Philbrick said Johnston is eligible because he owns property on the island.

Incumbent Patrick Flynn, of Centenial Street, will be the only name on the ballot to represent Peaks Island. But Philbrick said Robin Clark, of Welch Street, has declared a write-in candidacy.

Philbrick said voters on all of the islands served by CBITD will cast ballots for every race. Mainland city voters do not vote, he said.

The CBITD is governed by a 12-member board: 10 elected from the islands, one appointed by the city, and one appointed by the commissioner of the state Department of Transportation.

Three members represent Peaks Island, and two members are at-large. Great Diamond, Little Diamond, Long, Chebeague and Cliff islands have one representative each.

The board, along with its subcommittees, oversees all aspects of the managing the Casco Bay Lines, including fares, schedules, union contracts and employing the executive director.

Directors serve three-year terms. The CBITD currently has a $5 million budget, according to Executive Director Henry Berg.

Randy Billings can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 100 or Follow him on Twitter: @randybillings