Cape voters elect Town Councilors, School Board members in uncontested races

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

CAPE ELIZABETH — About 50 percent of voters elected two incumbents and three newcomers to seats on the Town Council and School Board in uncontested races.

Town Councilor David Sherman was re-elected with 2,748 votes and former School Board member Kathy Ray was elected to her first term on the Town Council with 2,720 votes.

School Board incumbent Mary Townsend was re-elected to fill a two-year, unexpired term of State House Rep. Kim Monaghan-Derrig. Townsend received 3,092 votes.

Newcomers Joanna Morrissey and Elizabeth Scifres, were elected to three-year terms on the School Board with 2,770 and 2,551, respectively.

Results are unofficial as of Tuesday night, and an estimated 3,694 ballots were cast from approximately 7,500 registered voters.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow her on Twitter: @amy_k_anderson.