Candidates qualify for ballots in Cape Elizabeth, Scarborough, South Portland

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

SOUTH PORTLAND — Legislative elections in Cape Elizabeth, Scarborough and South Portland will be notable this year for the departures of incumbents and rematches from past campaigns.

Two state Senate incumbents will not return to office after Democratic and Republican candidates were required to submit nominating petitions to the Maine secretary of state last week in advance of June 12 party primaries.

Sen. Phil Bartlett, a Gorham Democrat in District 6, will not seek re-election because of term limits. District 6 includes Gorham and portions of Scarborough and Westbrook.

Sen. Cynthia Dill, a Democrat who represents District 7 in Cape Elizabeth, South Portland and the eastern portion of Scarborough, is running to be her party’s candidate to replace U.S. Sen. Olympia Snowe, R-Maine.

In District 6, Democrats Timothy Driscoll of Westbrook and James Boyle of Gorham will square off in the June 12 primary, with the winner facing Republican Ruth Summers of Scarborough in November. (Summers is the wife of Secretary of State Charles Summers Jr., who is a Republican candidate to replace Snowe in the U.S. Senate.)

The winner in District 7 will be the third person to serve the district since last spring, when Democrat Larry Bliss resigned to move to California.

Rebecca Millett of Cape Elizabeth and South Portland Rep. Bryan Kaenrath will compete for the Democratic Party nomination in June. Millett is a former Cape Elizabeth School Board member and president.

The winner will face Republican Gary Crosby, a South Portland businessman who unsuccessfully ran for South Portland City Council in 2009.

In Cape Elizabeth, the race for House District 121 is a rematch between incumbent Democrat Kim Monaghan-Derrig and Republican Nancy Thompson.

Monaghan-Derrig defeated Thompson in August 2011 in a special election to fill the remainder of Dill’s term after she was elected to the Senate seat vacated by Bliss.

The House District 122 race for the area around Willard Beach and Ferry Village in South Portland is a rematch from 2010, with Republican Howard Farr hoping to defeat Democratic incumbent Rep. Terry Morrison. Morrison is seeking his third term.

Rep. Jane Eberle, D-South Portland, will not be running again in House District 123 because of term limits. The Republican candidate, Kenneth Myrick, will make his second try for the seat.

Myrick will be opposed by Democrat Scott Hamann and possibly independent Cape Elizabeth resident Roger Bishop in the district that includes South Portland and an inland portion of Cape Elizabeth.

Bishop has filed with the Maine Office of Governmental Ethics and Election Practices, and has until June 1 to return the necessary signatures to put him on the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

In House District 124, the western portion of South Portland, the race to succeed Kaenrath is between Republican Lindsay Douglas and Democrat Andrew Capone-Sprague.

Scarborough Reps. Amy Volk and Heather Sirocki are each seeking second, two-year terms in House Districts 127 and 128, respectively. Democrat Paul Aronson, a former Cumberland County district attorney, has no party opposition as he tries to defeat Volk.

In District 128, real estate agent Jean-Marie Caterina is the only Democrat running to unseat Sirocki.

The District 4 race for Cumberland County commissioner involves two Democratic veteran office holders. Former Maine Rep. Boyd Marley is running against South Portland City Councilor and former Mayor Thomas Coward. The winner will replace Richard J. Feeney; no Republican candidates filed before the March 15 deadline.

Cumberland County Register of Probate John O’Brien of Portland is challenged by Nancy Thurber, a Democrat from Falmouth.

David Harry can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow David on Twitter: @DavidHarry8.

Portland City Hall reporter for The Forecaster. Baltimore native, lived in Maine since 1989. A journalist since 2005, covering much of Cumberland and York counties. I joined The Forecaster in 2012.