Candidate pool filling up in upcoming Freeport election

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FREEPORT — In the past two weeks, nine residents have taken out nomination papers for various positions in the Nov. 8 municipal election.

There are three Town Council seats, two seats on the Sewer District Board of Trustees, one seat on the Water District Board of Trustees and two seats on the Regional School Unit 5 Board of Directors to fill. All are three-year terms.

According to Town Clerk Beverly Curry, all three incumbent councilors — District 2 Councilor Eric Pandora of Birch Point Road, District 3 Councilor Joe Migliaccio of Vin Mar Lane, and Councilor-at-large Rich DeGrandpre of Timber Ridge Road — have taken out papers.

As of Monday, Aug. 15 Curry said Katherine Arno of Pleasant Hill Road has taken out papers for District 2 and Kristina Egan of Weston Point Road has taken out papers for District 3.

Marie Gunning, a resident of Telos Road, has taken out papers for the at-large council seat.

Candidates for the District 2 and District 3 seats must collect 50 signatures, the at-large candidates must collect 100 signatures. So far, only Migliaccio has returned his nomination papers, Curry said.

For the RSU 5 board, two Freeport positions are open. The board is made up of six Freeport residents, three from Durham and two from Pownal. Freeport’s election is in November, while Durham and Pownal hold elections in April and June, respectively.

The two seats are currently held by Chairman Nelson Larkins of Shore Drive and Beth Parker of Spar Cove Road.

Curry said newcomer Gurdarshan Gill of Palmer Point Road has returned her papers for a chance to fill the RSU 5 seat and Larkins has taken papers out, but has not returned them yet.

The two seats available on the Sewer District Board of Trustees are held by Mike Ashby of Cove Road and Timothy Whitacre of Sandy Beach Drive. Whitacre, who has unsuccessfully run for a seat on the Sewer District twice before, was appointed by the Town Council in February of 2011. He filled a vacancy that was created when then Chairman Leon Arris left the board to become the district’s general manager.

Whitacre is the only resident to have taken out nomination papers for the Sewer District seats, Curry said.

The Water District position is currently held by Edmond Theriault of Litchfield Road. No one has taken out nomination papers yet, Curry said.

“So far, this is a great response (for a municipal election),” Curry said. “We usually don’t have this much competition.”

Although taking out nomination papers is an indication of interest, residents can take out papers for others, or may not return papers with the necessary signatures to run for office. 

Nomination papers are due back to the Town Hall, 30 Main St., no later than 6 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 14.

For more information, contact Curry at 865-4743, ext. 123.

Amy Anderson can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 110 or Follow her on Twitter: @amy_k_anderson