Bickerstaff, Harrington win Falmouth School Board election

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FALMOUTH — Voters overwhelmingly elected Caryn Bickerstaff and Clare Harrington to the School Board Tuesday night in a four-way race for two seats.

Harrington hauled in the most votes with 1,604, followed by Bickerstaff who received 1,565 votes.

The other two candidates, Michael Doyle and Susan Coughlin, received 513 and 477 votes, respectively.

“I am thrilled,” Bickerstaff said in an email after the vote. “I am very proud of our town and our school system and I am excited that the residents of Falmouth have elected me and provided me the chance to now be a part of the processes and decisions that will keep Falmouth as one of the top school systems in the state and nation.”

The new board members replace the vacated seats of Chris Murry Jr. and David Snow.

Doyle and Coughlin said they were not surprised by the results.

“I just hope they watch the school budget,” Coughlin said. “I hope they do their job and don’t just rubber stamp everything the superintendent wants. … I don’t really have a reaction either way. Those two ladies had a lot of signs out and were putting money into advertising and they got the election. Congratulations to them.”

Doyle also congratulated the winners.

“I want to thank all my supporters for coming out,” Doyle said. “(Bickerstaff and Harrington) should be able to do a good a job in elected office. … I thought everybody did a great job.”

Harrington did not immediately return a call for comment.

Voters also elected three new councilors – Russ Anderson, David Goldberg and Claudia King – who were uncontested.

The new councilors replace council Chairwoman Faith Varney, who is not seeking re-election, and Councilors Tony Payne and Bonny Rodden, who have reached the term limit of six consecutive years. Councilors are elected to three-year terms.

Total voter turnout was 26 percent, or 2,408 voters, according to the town clerk’s office.

Will Graff can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 123 or Follow him on Twitter: @W_C_Graff.