Abundance of autumn all-stars–Northern edition

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

In case you needed validation that Forecaster Country was home to some of the best high school sports athletes in the state, the recent release of all-star lists took care of it.

Regardless of the sport, athletes from local schools caught the eye of coaches from their conference and throughout the state.

Here’s a glimpse:


All four local football teams made the playoffs this year and the Campbell Conference honored players from all of them.

Falmouth lineman Drew Chamberlain and quarterback Noah Nelson and Greely running back James Ferrar, wide receiver Connor Hanley, quarterback Matt Pisini and lineman Dylan Rasch were named Class B all-stars.

The Class C squad included Freeport linebacker Ben MacMillan and tight end Jake Perry and Yarmouth running back Matt Klepinger, defensive lineman Thomas Lord, quarterback Brady Neujahr and running back Matt Woodbury.

Falmouth’s Nathan Boehm and Noah Pusher and Yarmouth’s Woodbury received Campbell Conference Academic Achievement Awards.

Boys’ soccer

Local boys’ soccer teams excelled this fall and the Western Maine Conference honored players from Falmouth, Freeport, Greely, North Yarmouth Academy and Yarmouth.

The Class A and B first team included Falmouth’s Nick Burton, Will D’Agostino and Luke Velas, Greely’s Matt Crowley and Jacob Nason and Yarmouth’s David Murphy, Chandler Smith and Max Watson.

Second teamers included Falmouth’s Jonah Spiegel, Freeport’s Nick Nelsonwood, Greely’s Aidan Black and Yarmouth’s Adam LaBrie.

NYA’s Wes Bright, Jackson Cohan-Smith, Austin Kidder and D.J. Nicholas made the Class C team.

The WMC All-Academic team included Yarmouth’s Wes Crawford, Ben Decker, Travis Hamre, Wyatt Jackson, Smith and Watson.

Falmouth’s Burton, D’Agostino and Velas made the Western A all-regional team.

Greely’s Crowley, Nason and Sam Porter and Yarmouth’s LaBrie, Murphy, Smith and Ben Vigue made the Western B all-regional team.

NYA’s Cohan-Smith, Kidder and Nicholas were named to the Western C all-regional team.

Crowley had a goal and D’Agostino and Kidder played goalie in the West’s 7-0 win over the East in the Senior All-Star Game.

All-state, All-New England and All-Americans will be named at a later date.

Girls’ soccer

On the girls’ side, the WMC Class A and B all-star team featured Falmouth’s Marcy Kittredge, Megan Miller and Maggie Seitz, Freeport’s Lexi Dietrich, Brooke Heathco and Ashley Richardson, Greely’s Izzy Hutnak, Jocelyn Mitiguy and Teal Otley and Yarmouth’s Lane Simsarian and Emma Torres.

The Class C all-star team included NYA’s Emily Baker, Chloe Leishman and Alex Wahlstrom.

The WMC All-Academic team included Greely’s Kaitlyn Graham, NYA’s Jillian Bjorn-Caron and Lizzie Lewis and Yarmouth’s Abby Belisle-Haley and Julia Primeau.

Falmouth’s Miller made the Western A all-regional team.

Greely’s Hutnak, Mitiguy, Otley and Kristina Volta and Yarmouth’s Simsarian and Torres made the Western B all-regional team.

All-state, All-New England and All-Americans will be named at a later date.

Field hockey

All five local field hockey teams made the playoffs this autumn and each squad had players named to the all-star team.

In Division I, Falmouth’s Hillary Nash and Hayley Winslow and Greely’s Katherine Bower made the first team.

The second team included Falmouth’s Leika Scott, Freeport’s Megan Peacock and Abby Smith and Greely’s Kristin Dugas.

In Division II, NYA’s Elizabeth Coughlin, Olivia Madore and Kayla Rose and Yarmouth’s Lily Daggett, Taylor Morrison and Katie Overhaug made the first team.

The second team included NYA’s Alexander Barnes and Juliana Tardif and Yarmouth’s Kallie Hutchinson and Emma Peterson.

NYA’s Rose was named the Class C Player of the Year.

Falmouth’s Nash, Scott and Winslow, Greely’s Dugas and NYA’s Rose were named all-state.

Cross country

Many of the state’s best cross country runners hailed from local schools this fall.

The WMC boys’ first team included Falmouth’s Scott Lambert and Bryce Murdick, Freeport’s Chandler Vincent and NYA’s Matt Malcom.

Falmouth’s Spencer Brown and Sean Soucy, Greely’s Troy Cochrane and Connor Rog and Merriconeag’s Zach Neveu and Tucker Pierce made the second team.

On the girls’ side, Falmouth’s Antoinette Lambert, Vishva Nalamalapu and Madeline Roberts, Freeport’s Sydney Ambrose and Elly Bengtsson, Greely’s Kirstin Sandreuter and Kristina Smith and NYA’s Hannah Austin made the WMC first team.

The second team included Falmouth’s Alexa Hoffman and Mira Wyman, Freeport’s Bethanie Knighton, Greely’s Sophie Stickney and Yarmouth’s Caitlin Teare and Ellie Teare.

The All-Academic team included Falmouth’s Noah Beliveau, Abbey Mitchell, Andrew Ostrow, Irjalina Paavonpera, Emma Powers, Madeline Roberts, Sabrina Smithwick, Brian Taylor and Abigail Whitmore, Freeport’s Sydney Ambrose, Elly Bengtsson, Meredith Broderick, Emma Egan, Emily Jennings, Bethanie Knighton, Lily LaMarre, Hayley Steckler and Gabriel Tilton, Greely’s Sarah Kurland, Eliza McKenney, Emma Nicholson, Samuel Reed-Parkinson and Kirstin Sandreuter and Yarmouth’s Braden Becker, Ben Decker, Jake Griffin, Molly Maguire, Madison Hynes, Ihila Lesnikova..

The All-State team featured some familiar names.

The boys’ first team included Yarmouth’s Braden Becker.

Freeport’s Chandler Vincent was an honorable mention selection.

The girls’ All-State team featured Greely’s Sandreuter.

NYA’s Austin was an honorable mention.


Multiple Falmouth and Greely golfers made the Southwestern Maine Activities Association golf all-star team.

Joe Lesniak and Craig Smith of Class A champion Falmouth were first teamers in the Northern Division.

Greely’s Tom Buckholz and Bailey Train made the Central Division first team. Greely’s Sam Burgoyne made the second team.

The girls’ first team included Greely’s Erin Holmes and Isabella Perry.

Falmouth’s Russell Barnard, Matthew Hutcheon and Lesniak all qualified for the SMAA All-Academic team.

In the WMC, NYA’s Dan Mahoney and Nick Demers, along with Yarmouth’s Monica Austin made the all-star team.


Falmouth’s Riley Burfeind and Katrina Meserve, along with Greely’s Jordynne Copp made the Class A volleyball all-state team.

Falmouth’s Megan Tammaro and Greely’s Kayley Cimino and Lexi Foster were named to the second team.

Falmouth’s Meserve was named Maine Player of the Year.

The Class B team was not available at press time.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at mhoffer@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Yarmouth junior standout Kallie Hutchinson made the WMC field hockey all-star team.

NYA’s Hannah Austin was one of many local girls’ cross country all-stars.

Freeport’s Ben MacMillan helped the Falcons reach the playoffs this fall and was named a Campbell Conference Class C all-star.

Falmouth goalkeeper Will D’Agostino and Greely’s Jacob Nason were both WMC first-team all-stars this autumn.

Sports Editor of The Forecaster since 2001. Find detailed game stories at theforecaster.net. I tweet prodigiously at @foresports.