5 candidates for 3 seats on Falmouth Town Council; 4 seek 2 School Board seats

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FALMOUTH — The April 26 deadline to turn in nomination papers for local elections revealed a few surprises and some expected candidates tossing their hats into the ring.

There are three seats up for grabs on the Town Council and two seats available on the School Board, all with three-year terms. Councilors and School Board members are limited to no more than two consecutive terms.

For the Town Council, incumbents Tony Payne and Bonny Rodden are seeking re-election. Payne was first elected in 2007 and serves as vice-chairman of the council, chairman of the Ordinance Committee and is a member of the Finance Committee.

Rodden was first elected in 2007. She serves on the Community Development Committee and is Falmouth’s representative to the METRO bus service and ecomaine.

Councilor David Libby, who was elected in 2004, is termed out. Other council candidates are Faith Varney, Barbara DiBiase and David R. Murray.

Varney is chairwoman of the Parks and Community Programs Advisory Committee and sits on the Board of Voter Registration Appeals. She was also a music teacher in Falmouth for 33 years.

DiBiase is the energy and sustainability coordinator on the Green Ribbon Commission, which recently submitted an energy and climate protection plan to the council.

Murray sat on the Planning Board from 1984 to 1990 and also served on the council from 1992 to 1998. During his final year on the council he served as chairman. Murray was also a volunteer firefighter.

Christopher Murry Jr., Audrey Grassman, Marna Miller and David Snow are running for two seats on the School Board. Linda Cote and Mark Terison are not seeking re-election; both have reached their term limits.

Election Day is Tuesday, June 8.

Emily Parkhurst can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 125 or eparkhurst@theforecaster.net

Sidebar Elements

Cumberland council incumbents face challenge

CUMBERLAND — Town Councilors Michael Perfetti and Stephen Moriarty face a challenge from Sally Leavitt on Election Day.

Two three-year seats are on the Town Council ballot. There are also two uncontested races for the School Administrative 51 Board of Directors.

Leavitt, a member of the Cumberland Taxpayers Association, works as an operations manager for the Roosevelt Trail Nursery and Garden Center in Windham.

The Morgan Lane resident, who has lived in Cumberland almost all of her 53 years, said “the town has been very important to me … and I’m at a point in my life where I have time that I can dedicate to paying back the town.”

The Town Council would be her first elected post in Cumberland.

Perfetti, of Main Street, is completing his first term on the council. Moriarty, of Blanchard Road, has served multiple terms.

Susan Campbell is not running again for her seat on the SAD 51 board. James Bailinson, the vice chairman of the board and a Friar Lane resident, is running again, and William Dunnett of Mulberry Lane is running for the other open seat.

— Alex Lear