3 House candidates in Freeport-Pownal Democratic primary

  • Mail this page!
  • Delicious
  • 0

FREEPORT — Three candidates are competing for the Democratic nomination in House District 106 in the June 12 primary election.

The Freeport-Pownal legislative district is the only one in the area with a contested primary.

The Democratic primary winner will face Republican Benjamin Martin, who is unopposed in his party’s primary, in the Nov. 6 general election.

The three Democrats are Town Council Vice Chairwoman Sara Gideon, former state Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Director Patrick Norton, and social worker Melanie Sachs.

The winner of the general election will replace Rep. David Webster, D-Freeport, who cannot seek a fifth term because of term limits.

Freeport voters will also be asked to approve the entire $24.9 million Regional School Unit 5 budget. No municipal or School Board seats are on the ballot.

Several other towns have contested municipal elections, including Cumberland, Falmouth, North Yarmouth and Yarmouth.


Karen Campbell faces a challenge from former Town Councilor Jeff Porter in her campaign for a second term on the School Administrative District 51 Board of Directors. Cumberland and North Yarmouth voters will also vote on a $30.4 million school budget.

Three Town Council races are uncontested on June 12. Incumbents Shirley Storey-King of Shirley Lane, Ron Copp of Interurban Drive and George Turner of Carriage Road are all seeking their third terms.


Bryan Dench, Russ Anderson, Sean Mahoney and Karen Farber are running for two Town Council seats being vacated by Councilors Fred Chase and Will Armitage.

The School Board election is uncontested, with incumbent Andrew Kinley and Dierdre Conroy-Vella seeking two open seats.

Voters will also decide on the proposed $29.3 million fiscal 2013 school budget.

North Yarmouth

Incumbent Todd Nicholson faces a challenge from former School Board member James Moulton in his re-election bid for the SAD 51 Board of Directors. Voters will also decide on the district’s budget.


Four candidates are seeking three, three-year terms on the School Committee. Incumbent and current Chairman David Ray is joined on the ballot by incumbent Craig Wolff, former School Committee member Tim Wheaton and newcomer Susan Garrett.

The complexion of the Town Council will change, but the candidates seeking two seats with three-year terms and one seat with a one-year term are unopposed in their bids.

Veteran Councilors Carlton Winslow and Erving H. “Erv” Bickford had decided against seeking new terms. Bickford died May 12 after a long illness. Councilor Tim Sanders resigned after serving two years of his first term in office.

Bickford will be replaced on the Yarmouth Water District by Walter A. Anderson, who is unopposed for a three-year term as trustee.

Yarmouth residents will also vote on the $20.16 million school budget.

Chebeague Island

Three people are running uncontested for three open seats on the Board of Selectmen. Former Selectman Donna Damon is seeking a three-year seat currently held by Chris Rich; incumbent David Hill is running for another three-year term.

Mark Dyer, who resigned from the Board of Selectmen last October, is running to complete the final year of John Martin’s unexpired term. He has not disclosed why he resigned last year.

Jennifer Belesca is unopposed for another term on the School Committee. Residents will also vote on a nearly $919,000 school budget.

U.S. Senate

The Senate seat soon to be vacated by Sen. Olympia Snowe, R-Maine, is the most candidate-heavy of any of the races.

State Sen. Cynthia Dill of Cape Elizabeth, former Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap of Old Town, state Rep. Jon Hinck and homebuilder Justin B. Pollard, both of Portland, are vying for the Democratic nomination.

The Republican primary is even more crowded, with former Senate President Richard Bennett of Oxford, former Lisbon Falls Selectman Scott D’Amboise, state Sen. Debra Plowman of Hampden, state Treasurer Bruce Poliquin of Georgetown, Attorney General William Schneider of Durham, and Secretary of State Charles Summers Jr. of Scarborough hoping to seek Snowe’s coveted seat in November. 

There are no Green candidates on the ballot.

The winners of the Democratic and Republican primaries will face opposition in November from a handful of independent candidates: former Gov. Angus King of Brunswick, conservative activist Andrew Ian Dodge of Harpswell, Yarmouth Town Council Chairman Steve Woods and Brunswick resident Danny Dalton.

U.S. House

Incumbent U.S. Rep. Chellie Pingree, D-North Haven, is unchallenged in her party primary. Republicans Patrick Calder, a Portland merchant marine, and state Senate Majority Leader Jonathan Courtney of Springvale oppose each other for the Republican nomination in the 1st Congressional District.


Incumbent John B. O’Brien of Portland faces a primary challenge from fellow Democrat Nancy K. Thurber of Falmouth to retain his job as Cumberland County register of probate.

Andrew Cullen and David Harry contributed to this report. Alex Lear can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 113 or alear@theforecaster.net. Follow him on Twitter: @learics.

Sidebar Elements

June 12 polling places, times

• Chebeague Island: Island Hall, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

• Cumberland: Town Hall, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

• Falmouth: High school gymnasium, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

• Freeport: High school gymnasium, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

• North Yarmouth: Wescustogo Hall, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

• Yarmouth: AmVets Hall, North Road, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

A Maine native and Colby College graduate, Alex has been covering coastal communities since 2001, and currently handles Bath, Topsham, Cumberland, and North Yarmouth. He and his wife, Lauren, live in the Portland area, and Alex recently released his third album of original music.